Research Guides: *Communication &amp; Media Studies: The Portal: Journal Articles & Newspapers

Journals in Communication

Communication Monographs (1976- )
New Media & Society (1999 - )
Digital Journalism (2012 - )
Communication Methods and Measures (2007 - )
Political Communication (1992- )
Journal of Communication (1951- )
International Journal of Press-Politics (2008 - )
Journal of Public Relations Research (1992- )
Comunicar (1994- )
Journal of Advertising (1972 - )
Information, Communication & Society (1998 - )
Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication (1995- )
Communication Research (1974- )
International Journal of Advertising (1983- )
Information Society (1981- )
Note: Journal titles ranked by impact factor from the Journal Citation Reports (Oct. 2021)

Journals from National Communication Associations

Communication and Critical/Cultural Studies (2004-)
Communication Education (1997-)
Communication Monographs (1997- )
Communication Teacher (2004- )
Critical Studies in Media Communication (2000- )
First Amendment Studies (2013 -)
Journal of International and Intercultural Communication (2008-)
Journal of Applied Communication Research:JACR (1997-)
Quarterly Journal of Speech (1997-)
Review of Communication (2003-)
Text and Performance Quarterly (1980 -)

Journals from International Association Communication

Journal of Communication (1951-)
Human Communication Research (1974-)
Communication Theory (1997-)
Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication
Communication, Culture & Critique (2008-)
Annals of the International Communication Association (1997-)

Tip: These journal ranking sites are useful for identifying the top journals in Communication and the related disciplines.

A list of Open Access Journals in Communication
from IAMCR (International Association for Media and Communication Research )

Newspapers

Selected Databases:

National	International	Regional	Historical	Black Historical
_New York Times _Wall Street Journals _Washington Post _U.S. Major Dailies	_NexisUni _Access World News Research _Factiva	_U.S. Southeast Historical _Tallahassee Democrat	_African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 _Americas Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 _ProQuest Historical Newspapers _CRL Historical Newspaper Collection including World Newspaper Archive	_ProQuest Historical Newspapers ... New York Amsterdam News \| Philadelphia Tribune \| Atlanta Daily World \| Los Angeles Sentinel \| Norfolk Journal and Guide \| Chicago Defender and more _CRL Historical Newspaper Collection's African American Newspapers

For a more comprehensive guide to historical, current, and local newspapers, check out this Newspaper Research Guide.

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window Find current and archived state, national, and international full-text articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,500 newspapers and other news sources including the Miami Herald (5/19/82–Current), Orlando Sentinel (4/1/85–Current), and USA Today (7/1/87–Current). Also includes: Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires & Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias.
Log into NewsBank and create an account to save your search history, save articles, save searches, and create Email alerts.

To Create an Alert
- Enter a search that you're interested in.
- On the results page click on Set up an Alert.
- Choose to create the alert as a registered user or without registering.
- Specify the frequency by which you'd like to receive your alerts.
- If there are new results, NewsBank will send them to you in an email.
Please note that FSU does not having a data-mining subscription with Newsbank, downloading entire series or papers is prohibited.

Abbreviation: awn
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1903-Current
Subjects: Communication, Hospitality
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
African American Newspapers, 1827–1998 This link opens in a new window Provides online access to 280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
Abbreviation: afamnp
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1827-1998
Subjects: African-American Studies, Communication, History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690–1922 This link opens in a new window Searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of newspaper titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this collection chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from the colonial era to the early twentieth century, with especially good coverage of the nineteenth century. Note: FSU has access to African American Newspapers, Series 1; Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1; Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 12: The Specialized Press.
Abbreviation: eana
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1690-1922
Subjects: Communication, History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Factiva (20 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window Factiva.com, from Dow Jones, includes access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
There is a 20 concurrent user limit.

Abbreviation: djfac
Vendor: Dow Jones & Company
Subjects: Business, Communication, Finance
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
New York Times (The) This link opens in a new window The New York Times is considered the "official" U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
See: New York Times 1980-Present Full Text (no images)
See also: New York Times 1923-2017 Full Text PDF
See also: New York Times 1851-2017 Full Text PDF

Abbreviation: nyt
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980-Current
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni offers a simple, intuitive research experience with flexible search options and tools to help guide students through common research tasks. Nexis Uni offers the same trusted content collection of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources that students and librarians alike have come to expect from LexisNexis, while also providing a better research experience.
Content:
Briefs, Pleadings and Motions
Cases
Company and Financial
Directories
Law Reviews and Journals
Legal News
News
Statutes and Legislation

Abbreviation: nexis
Vendor: LexisNexis
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Hospitality, Law, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Sociology
Type: Directories, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Proceedings
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. Southeast Collection This link opens in a new window From leading issues and events, like the U.S. Civil War, immigration, westward expansion, industrial developments, race relations, and World War I and II; to international, local and regional politics, society, arts, culture, business, and sports, ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ reveals the day-to-day news coverage to researchers and historical explorers, providing invaluable insights and information to users from a wide range of subjects. Historical coverage of 17 Southern newspapers, including the Tallahassee Democrat.
Titles:
Asheville Citizen-Times (Asheville, NC)-1873-2009
The Daily News Leader (Staunton, VA)-1912-2011
The Daily News-Journal (Murfreesboro, TN)-TBD
Daily Press (Newport News, VA)-1898-2001
The Daily Times (Salisbury, MD)-1913-2011
Florida Today (Brevard County, FL)-1969-2006
The Jackson Sun (Jackson, TN)-TBD
The Leaf-Chronicle (Clarksville, TN)-TBD
Miami News (Miami, FL)-1904-1988
The News-Press (Fort Meyers, FL)-1911-2010
Orlando Sentinel (Orlando, FL)-1892-2001
Palm Beach Daily News (Palm Beach, FL)-1976-2011
Palm Beach Post (Palm Beach, FL)-1916-2004
Pensacola News Journal (Pensacola, FL)-1956-2011
South Florida Sun-Sentinel (Fort Lauderdale, FL)-1925-2000
Tallahassee Democrat (Tallahassee, FL)-1913-2008
The Tampa Tribune (Tampa, FL)-1895-2016

Abbreviation: usshist
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Communication, History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. Southeast Collection This link opens in a new window From leading issues and events, like the U.S. Civil War, immigration, westward expansion, industrial developments, race relations, and World War I and II; to international, local and regional politics, society, arts, culture, business, and sports, ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ reveals the day-to-day news coverage to researchers and historical explorers, providing invaluable insights and information to users from a wide range of subjects. Historical coverage of 17 Southern newspapers, including the Tallahassee Democrat.
Titles:
Asheville Citizen-Times (Asheville, NC)-1873-2009
The Daily News Leader (Staunton, VA)-1912-2011
The Daily News-Journal (Murfreesboro, TN)-TBD
Daily Press (Newport News, VA)-1898-2001
The Daily Times (Salisbury, MD)-1913-2011
Florida Today (Brevard County, FL)-1969-2006
The Jackson Sun (Jackson, TN)-TBD
The Leaf-Chronicle (Clarksville, TN)-TBD
Miami News (Miami, FL)-1904-1988
The News-Press (Fort Meyers, FL)-1911-2010
Orlando Sentinel (Orlando, FL)-1892-2001
Palm Beach Daily News (Palm Beach, FL)-1976-2011
Palm Beach Post (Palm Beach, FL)-1916-2004
Pensacola News Journal (Pensacola, FL)-1956-2011
South Florida Sun-Sentinel (Fort Lauderdale, FL)-1925-2000
Tallahassee Democrat (Tallahassee, FL)-1913-2008
The Tampa Tribune (Tampa, FL)-1895-2016

Abbreviation: usshist
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Communication, History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Tallahassee Democrat This link opens in a new window Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Abbreviation: talldemo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1999-Current
Subjects: Newspapers
Type: Citation Management, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Abbreviation: dailies
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980-Current
Subjects: Communication
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
U.S. Southeast Newsstream This link opens in a new window U.S. Southeast Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Southeast Newsstream covers news sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
Abbreviation: ussnews
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980-Current
Type: Citation Management, Newspapers and Newswires
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It is an indispensable source for business professionals, providing business and financial news coverage, personal and company profiles, feature reporting, special reports, and regular columns.
Also see: ProQuest (for today's edition back to Jan 8, 2010) Wall Street Journal Online
Also see: Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition

Abbreviation: wsj
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1984-Current
Type: Citation Management, Newspapers and Newswires

Newspapers on Microfilm

Microfilm Series Negro Newspaper Microform

Includes scattered issues of many different Negro newspaper titles, published 1823-1928.
For a guide to this set, see: Pride, A.S. Negro newspapers on microfilm, a selected list (Micr Z6944.N39 P7).

Open Access Collection

Historical Newspaper and Magazines
"This page lists databases produced by states or their political subdivisions that index articles in newspapers, journals and magazines that may be historical or genealogical resources. In most cases the full article will not be online. In many cases the article will be available through Interlibrary Loan at your local library. "
more...less...
GODORT
Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive
Covers 1847-1922 and includes: Atlanta Daily Examiner, 1857, Atlanta Daily Herald, 1873-1876, Atlanta Georgian, 1906-1911, Atlanta Intelligencer, 1851, 1854-1871, Atlantian, 1911-1922, Daily/Georgia Weekly Opinion, 1867-1868, Gate-City Guardian, 1861, Georgia Literary and Temperance Crusader, 1860-1861, New Era, 1869-1872, Southern Confederacy, 1861-1864, Southern Miscellany, and Upper Georgia Whig, 1847, Southern World, 1882-1885, Sunny South, 1875-1907, and Weekly Constitution, 1869-1882.
The Bartlett Tribune (Texas)
Covers the years 1902 - 1972. The town of Bartlett straddles the border of both Williamson and Bell Counties, in Texas. In 1909 the name changed to the Bartlett Tribune and News.
Birmingham (Alabama) Newspapers
1874-1901, from the Birmingham Public Library
Brooklyn Daily Eagle 1841-1902 Online
more...less...
Produced by the Brooklyn Public Library's Brooklyn Collection and funded by the Library and the Institute of Museum and Library Services
California Digital Newspaper Collection
"A Freely Accessible Repository of Digitized California Newspapers from 1846 to the Present"
CARAT (Arkansas Historical Newspapers)
1819-present, from the Arkansas History Commission
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
more...less...
Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress
Cleveland Press Collection (Ohio)
This newspaper was published from published from 1878 until 1982.
Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection
1859 to 1923, from the Colorado State Library & Colorado Historical Society
C-SPAN Video Archive
"The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives."
The Daily Iowan Historic Newspapers
"Dating back to 1868 the Daily Iowan Newspaper Collection provides access to digitized versions of The Daily Iowan and its predecessors: the University Reporter (1868-81), the Vidette (1879-81), the Vidette-Reporter (1881-1901) and the University Mirror (1881). The newspaper editions are full text searchable. Though not yet comprehensive, issues will continue to be added up to 2006."
Federal Newsmaps
Highlighted our troops during WWII
Freedom's Journal
All 103 issues of the Freedom's Journal have been digitized by the Wisconsin Historical Society and are on this website. According to this site this newspaper "provided international, national, and regional information on current events and contained editorials declaiming slavery, lynching, and other injustices. The Journal also published biographies of prominent African-Americans and listings of births, deaths, and marriages in the African-American New York community. "
Google News Archive
Search and explore historical archives and create timelines which show selected results from relevant time periods.
Historic Australian Newspapers
1803 to 1954.
more...less...
National Library of Australia.
Historic Missouri Newspapers
Historical Newspaper and Magazine
"lists databases produced by states or their political subdivisions that index articles in newspapers, journals and magazines that may be historical or genealogical resources. In most cases the full article will not be online. In many cases the article will be available through Interlibrary Loan at your local library."
Historical Newspapers Online
State newspapers for scattered years.
more...less...
Penn Libraries
Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection
more...less...
University of Illinois at Urbana- Champaigne
Kentuckiana Digital Library
Las Vegas Age
April 7, 1905-1915, 1917-1922, 1924
List of Online Newspaper Archives
A list of free and pay wall blocked digital online newspaper archives.
more...less...
Wikipedia
The Newspaper Archives of New Brunswick (N.J.)
1871-1916, from New Brunswick Free Public Library
Newspapers.com
Locate newspapers from around the world.
North Carolina Digitization Project
1751-1898, from North Carolina State Archives
Ohio Jewish Chronicle
1918-1994, from Ohio Historical Society
Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection
"A collection of newspapers from the civil war era dated from February 23,1831 to February 14,1877"
Pennsylvania Historic Newspapers
1826-1898, from State Library of Pennsylvania
Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
1890s to the present, from the Carnegie Mellon University
The Stars and Stripes
The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I, 1918-1919. Full-text from the Library of Congress, from February 8, 1918-June 13, 1919.
Suffolk Historic Newspapers (N.Y.)
1822-2007, from Suffolk County Public Libraries
Texas Digital Newspaper Program
1829-present, from University of North Texas
Utah Digital Newspapers
Older newspapers, mostly starting in the late 1800's.
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive
"The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. "
Virginia Gazette
1736-1780, from Colonial Williamsburg Fourndation
Virginia Newspapers
1785-2000, from Library of Virginia
Washington Historical Newspapers
1852-1892, from Washington State Library
Wyoming Newspaper Project
1849-1922, from the Wyoming State Library

*Communication & Media Studies: The Portal

Find Newspapers for Places and Times

Center for Research Libraries

Journals in Communication

Newspapers

Newspapers on Microfilm

Open Access Collection