Research Guides: *Communication &amp; Media Studies: The Portal: How to Find Books, Journals &amp; Databases @ OneSearch

Know Where to Go First: Pros & Cons of Search Systems

	Pros & Cons
Multidisciplinary database/Search engines	FSU OneSearch: For a quick and easy retrieval of and access to FSU's subscribed content. "Peer-reviewed" filter available. Has limited coverage and search filters. Google Scholar: No "peer-reviewed articles" filter. Great as a starter, especially for an interdisciplinary topic.
Article databases	Communication & Mass Media Complete ABI/INFORM Collection Business Source Complete APA PsycINFO Good sources for articles published in communication and business journals. A "peer-reviewed" journal filter is available, along with various other filters to refine your search. The databases might not have the full text of the top journals in the field.
Journal Publisher Platforms/ Journal Databases	JSTOR: Date coverage is not current. Typically, with years of embargo. Not ideal if you are looking for the most recent publications ScienceDirect: The publisher platform only for Elsevier journals and books Emerald Insights: Only for Emerald publications Wiley Online Library: Only for Wiley journals and books SAGE Journals: Only for SAGE journals INFORMS Journals: Only for INFORMS journals
Database Vendor Platforms	EBSCOhost ProQuest EBSCO and ProQuest are database vendors that provide access to hundreds of database products with a single point of access and search interface. When you search EBSCOhost database or ProQuest Databases through the Libraries, you are searching a lot of different subject databases from Business to Computer Science to Fine Arts to Zoology all at once. Searching databases not relevant to your topic will yield a large number of hits, many of which may be irrelevant.
Citation Indexes Database	Web of Science Scopus WoS and Scopus are great sources to track citations backward and forward to see the citation networks of the papers (and authors) and identify the impact of the research. Use it when you look for articles published in prestigious journals such as SSI and SSCI journals. The two are considered as a "must" source when you do a systematic review or scoping review.
Others	Dissertations & Theses (Global) from ProQuest: A good source for finding niche topics and details of the research. Dissertations and theses are unpublished documents (not peer-reviewed), and the quality of the work varies.

Books & Journals @ FSU Libraries

Watch more videos to learn how to discover materials from FSU Libraries

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles with OneSearch (1:02)
Advanced Search in OneSearch (2:12)
Finding Books with OneSearch (1:49)
Requesting Materials in OneSearch (2:58)
Finding Materials from Other Schools with OneSearch (1:28)
Saving Your Results in OneSearch (1:44)
New OneSearch Links (1:36)

How to Find, Access & Use Ebooks at FSU Libraries (Rev. Aug. 2023)

Databases

On the library homepage, click on the [Search Options] tab.
Databases Search Link

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Abbreviation: cmmc
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Marketing
Type: E-Journal Collections
Academic Search Complete
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1887–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
MRI Simmons Catalyst (20 concurrent user limit)
Tutorials:
Introducing Simmons Insights (4:52)

Abbreviation: insi
Vendor: MRI Simmons
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Note: Due to copyright considerations, not all VTNA records include online streaming video content. FSU does not have access to the video loan service. Registering for a personal account does not enable additional access.

Abbreviation: vantna
Vendor: Vanderbilt University
Coverage: 1968–Current
Subjects: Communication
Type: Indexes / Catalogs, Streaming Video
Film & Television Literature Index
Abbreviation: ftl-ind
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Communication, Film Studies, Literature
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Disciplines	Databases
Psychology	APA PsycINFO, PscyTEST
Education	ERIC
Health Communication	CINAHL, MEDLINE(Ovid), PubMed, EMBASE, Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Political Communication	Columbia International Affairs Online, CQ Researcher, PAIS Index
Multidisciplinary	Google Scholar, Web of Science, JSTOR, Social Sciences Premium Collection
Dissertations	Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)

Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full-text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. This database is a strong source for full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886–Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports
ABI/INFORM Collection
Documents in ABI/INFORM Collection (the most comprehensive version of ABI/INFORM) number over 40 million. Over 90% of the articles can be found right in the database. For the remaining 10%, summaries and links to other resources are provided. Publications are precisely indexed and various search aids and tools are provided in the ProQuest platform to help users find information. Tools for citation generation, emailing and printing articles of interest are also provided on the platform.
Subjects include:
Business
Economic conditions
Corporate strategies
Management theory
Management techniques
Business trends
Competitive landscape and product information
Accounting
Finance

Tutorials:
Introduction to ABI/INFORM Collection (PowerPoint)
Overview of ABI Market Research Sources (PowerPoint)
Tip for Teaching: ABI/INFORM Collection Uncovering SWOT Analyses (03:51 minutes)

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry- Features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM Dateline- Browse Search not included
ABI/INFORM Global- features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete

Abbreviation: abi-com
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)
Find business, company and financial reports, plus investment, stock and mutual fund research. Provides financial content for public companies globally as well as hard-to-find private company information. Contains Company Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Funds Reports, Stock Screener, Corporations, Executives and Directors Screener, Mutual Fund Screener, Corporate Bond Screener, and Compustat Excel Analytics.
Abbreviation: nasp
Vendor: Standard & Poor's
Subjects: Business, Communication, Economics, Finance, Hospitality
Type: E-Book Collections
PrivCo
PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major privately-held companies, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo covers over 165,000 companies, including financial data, over 30,000 M&A transactions, and over 15,000 funding rounds. PrivCo also has over 10,000 investors, and advance search options by company, deal or investor, giving you the ability to generate fields of data within seconds based on criteria such as location, sub-industry, revenue and employee sizes, financial backing and more.

Note: create or sign in to your personal user account to access PrivCo.
Abbreviation: priv
Vendor: PrivCo
Subjects: Business, Finance
Type: Datasets / Statistics
IBISWorld Industry Market Research
A collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. Coverage includes over 700 U.S. industries in over 1100 industry-specific reports. Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, forecasting, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging trends, recent production performance and 5-year forecasts. The U.S. Specialized Industry Reports series covers niche industries such as pawn shops, boat insurance companies, air gun manufacturers and circus operators.
Abbreviation: ibisworld
Vendor: IBISWorld
Subjects: Business, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Reports

Mintel Academic
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering U.S. and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Note: First-time users, create a Mintel profile with your @fsu.edu email address.
Industries covered include:
Automotive
Beauty
Consumer Electronics
Digital Media
Drink
Financial Services
Food
Foodservice
Health & Wellness
Household
Personal Care
Packaging
Retail
Sport & Entertainment Travel & Tourism

Tutorials:
Interactive Databook Training (10:39)
A 10-minute tutorial video on how to navigate Interactive Databook, how to explore demographics, and customize your own consumer data report.

Abbreviation: mintel
Vendor: Mintel International Group
Coverage: 2001–Current
Subjects: Business, Communication, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Reports
RKMA Market Research Handbooks
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA), founded in 1972, publishes handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace.
Abbreviation: rkmabk
Vendor: Richard K. Miller & Associates
Subjects: Business, Communication, Hospitality, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Sport Management
Type: E-Book Collections

Statista
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data. Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Abbreviation: stati
Vendor: Statista
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Hospitality, Marketing, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Social Explorer (1 concurrent user limit)
Tutorials:
Social Explorer LibGuide

Abbreviation: socex
Vendor: Center for Research Libraries
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
Sage Data
Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, International Relations, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather.

Abbreviation: dpf
Vendor: SAGE Publishing
Subjects: Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Finance, Food, Geography, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Abbreviation: icpsr
Vendor: University of Michigan
Coverage: 1962–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Human Development & Family Science, Geography, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics

News aggregators

Access World News Research Collection
Find current and archived state, national, and international full-text articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,500 newspapers and other news sources including the Miami Herald (5/19/82–Current), Orlando Sentinel (4/1/85–Current), USA Today (7/1/87–Current), and Historical Newspaper Archives. Also includes: Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires & Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias.
Log into NewsBank and create an account to save your search history, save articles, save searches, and create Email alerts.

To Create an Alert
- Enter a search that you're interested in.
- On the results page click on Set up an Alert.
- Choose to create the alert as a registered user or without registering.
- Specify the frequency by which you'd like to receive your alerts.
- If there are new results, NewsBank will send them to you in an email.
Please note that FSU does not having a data-mining subscription with Newsbank. Downloading entire series or papers is prohibited.

Abbreviation: awn
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1903–Current
Subjects: Communication, Hospitality
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
Factiva (20 concurrent user limit)
Factiva.com, from Dow Jones, includes access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events—especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
There is a 20 concurrent user limit.

Abbreviation: djfac
Vendor: Dow Jones & Company
Subjects: Business, Communication, Finance
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni offers a simple, intuitive research experience with flexible search options and tools to help guide students through common research tasks. Nexis Uni offers the same trusted content collection of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources that students and librarians alike have come to expect from LexisNexis, while also providing a better research experience.
Content:
Briefs, Pleadings and Motions
Cases
Company and Financial
Directories
Law Reviews and Journals
Legal News
News
Statutes and Legislation

Abbreviation: nexis
Vendor: LexisNexis
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Hospitality, Law, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Sociology
Type: Directories, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Proceedings
U.S. Major Dailies
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Abbreviation: dailies
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Communication
Type: Newspapers and Newswires

Newspapers

New York Times (The)
The New York Times is considered the "official" U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
See: New York Times 1980-Present Full Text (no images)
See also: New York Times 1923-2017 Full Text PDF
See also: New York Times 1851-2017 Full Text PDF

Abbreviation: nyt
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980–Current
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Tallahassee Democrat
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Abbreviation: talldemo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1999–Current
Subjects: Newspapers
Type: Citation Management, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It is an indispensable source for business professionals, providing business and financial news coverage, personal and company profiles, feature reporting, special reports, and regular columns.
Also see: ProQuest (for today's edition back to Jan 8, 2010) Wall Street Journal Online
Also see: Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition

Abbreviation: wsj
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1984–Current
Type: Citation Management, Newspapers and Newswires