Data - Statistics - *Criminology & Criminal Justice - Research Guides at The Florida State University

Subject Guide

Kirsten Kinsley

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

116 Honors Way
Strozier Library

(850) 645-9347

Subjects: Criminology and Criminal Justice, Psychology, Social Work

Data sources form Library Databases

Many of the databases purchased by FSU Libraries provide unique datasets and interactive mapping tools to aid in data visualiztion:

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Explore a curated collection of United States statistics in Sage Data. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, International Relations, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather.

Abbreviation: dpf
Vendor: SAGE Publishing
Subjects: Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Finance, Food, Geography, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. A compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in 1990, HSUS has been expanded to include data series and topics such as slavery, American Indians, health, crime, migration, poverty, and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context.
Abbreviation: hsus
Vendor: Cambridge University Press
Subjects: Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Historical / Primary Sources

ICPSR
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction since 1962.

OECD iLibrary (changing to OECD) This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the OECD, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Everything published by the OECD (books, journals, series, working papers, databases) is available online on OECD. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF). OECD iLibrary presents all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters in any available format: PDF, WEB, XLS, ActiveChart, DATA, ePUB, READ.
OECD iLibrary is transitioning to a newly-designed website at OECD and will cease to be updated on December 6, 2024.
Tutorials:
User Guide

Subjects include:
Agriculture and Food
Development
Economics
Education
Employment
Energy
Environment
Finance and Investment
Governance
Industry and Services
Nuclear Energy
Science and Technology
Social Issues/Migration/Health
Taxation
Trade
Transport
Urban, Rural and Regional Development

Abbreviation: sourceoecd
Vendor: OECD
Subjects: Anthropology, Art, Business, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Geography, Higher Education, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Music Education, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sociocultural and International Education, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Social Explorer (1 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Note: Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed. Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data. Able to create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Engagement between society and science.
Tutorials:
Social Explorer LibGuide

Abbreviation: socex
Vendor: Center for Research Libraries
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data. Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Abbreviation: stati
Vendor: Statista
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Hospitality, Marketing, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics

Statistics Resources

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Centers for Disease Control, WONDER
FBI Uniform Crime Reports (UCR)
2007 FBI/DOJ Crime in the United States - Expanded Homicide Data
Florida Department of Corrections Index to Statistics and Publications
Florida Department of Law Enforcement - Crime by County
Florida Department of Law Enforcement - Crime Statistics - Leon County
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
more...less...
Mission Statement

The mission of the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS)
more...less...
"The NCVS was designed with four primary objectives: (1) to develop detailed information about the victims and consequences of crime, (2) to estimate the number and types of crimes not reported to the police, (3) to provide uniform measures of selected types of crimes, and (4) to permit comparisons over time and types of areas. The survey categorizes crimes as "personal" or "property." Personal crimes cover rape and sexual attack, robbery, aggravated and simple assault, and purse-snatching/pocket-picking, while property crimes cover burglary, theft, motor vehicle theft, and vandalism. The data from the NCVS survey are particularly useful for calculating crime rates, both aggregated and disaggregated, and for determining changes in crime rates from year to year." http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/NACJD/NCVS/
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention: Statistical Briefing Book
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Statistics
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
U.S. Bureau of the Census

Stats Consulting

The Statistical Consulting Center, a program of the FSU Department of Statistics, offers the following services to students and faculty in all disciplines:

Translating research hypotheses into statistical terms
Assisting in the design or evaluation of experiment & sampling procedures
Assisting in the interpretation & presentation of statistical results (including computer output)
Advising on the choice of statistical methods & computer programs
Referring clients to other sources of advice & assistance

For more information, please see http://stat.fsu.edu/consulting-center

Subscribe to JUSTSTATS

BJS, the FBI, and OJJDP crime and justice stats will be emailed to you upon availability.