Research Guides: *Urban & Regional Planning: How to Find Books, Journals &amp; Databases

Books & Journals @ FSU Libraries

Watch more videos to learn how to discover materials from FSU Libraries

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles with OneSearch (1:02)
Advanced Search in OneSearch (2:12)
Finding Books with OneSearch (1:49)
Requesting Materials in OneSearch (2:58)
Finding Materials from Other Schools with OneSearch (1:28)
Saving Your Results in OneSearch (1:44)
New OneSearch Links (1:36)

How to Find, Access, and Use Ebooks at FSU Libraries

Top Scholarly Journals in Urban & Regional Planning

Most top journals in URP are available through FSU Libraries.

To find the top journal rankings, go to Scimago Journal & Country Rank, then select the "Geography, Planning & Development" "Urban Studies"
"Transportation" or "Public Health, and Environmental and Occupational Health" category from the [All Subject Categories] menu on the top.

Databases

On the library homepage, click on the [Search Options] tab.
Databases Search Link

Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals
Abbreviation: sspc
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1871–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Anthropology, Art, Art Education, Art Therapy, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Early Childhood Education, Economics, Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides citations and abstracts from over 600 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics. Coverage includes urban, rural and regional economics, public finance, international economics, banking, labor economics, country studies, economic history, demography, law & economics, industry studies, government regulations, business, economic development, agricultural and natural resources economics, and health, education and welfare economics. Most records since 1987 include an abstract. EconLit uses the Journal of Economic Literature Classification system as Subject Descriptors.
Abbreviation: econlit
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886–Current
Subjects: Economics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Urban Studies & Planning Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection includes 33 peer-reviewed journals published by Sage and participating societies, encompassing over 55,000 articles.
Abbreviation: urpc
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Coverage: 1999–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Environmental Sciences, Geography, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data. Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Abbreviation: stati
Vendor: Statista
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Hospitality, Marketing, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

If you receive an error about not being able to access this database because of using a proxy server, please go straight to https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/ then create an account using the link in the upper right to access their site from anywhere. Please use your FSU credentials for the account. If you receive an error about not being from a member institution, submit a request for validation by sending an email to icpsr-help@umich.edu and include your name, your institutional email address, and the name of your institution.
Abbreviation: icpsr
Vendor: University of Michigan
Coverage: 1962–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Human Development & Family Science, Geography, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Social Explorer (1 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Note: Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed. Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data. Able to create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Engagement between society and science.
Tutorials:
Social Explorer LibGuide

Abbreviation: socex
Vendor: Center for Research Libraries
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Explore a curated collection of United States statistics in Sage Data. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects—business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, International Relations, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather.

Abbreviation: dpf
Vendor: SAGE Publishing
Subjects: Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Finance, Food, Geography, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. University faculty, researchers, and students use it to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports and upload your own data to view it with ours.
Note: create or sign in to your personal user account to access PolicyMap.
Abbreviation: pcmap
Vendor: PolicyMap
Subjects: Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Finance, Food, Geography, Law, Political Science, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps

News aggregators

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Find current and archived state, national, and international full-text articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,500 newspapers and other news sources including the Miami Herald (5/19/82–Current), Orlando Sentinel (4/1/85–Current), and USA Today (7/1/87–Current). Also includes: Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires & Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias.
Log into NewsBank and create an account to save your search history, save articles, save searches, and create Email alerts.

To Create an Alert
- Enter a search that you're interested in.
- On the results page click on Set up an Alert.
- Choose to create the alert as a registered user or without registering.
- Specify the frequency by which you'd like to receive your alerts.
- If there are new results, NewsBank will send them to you in an email.
Please note that FSU does not having a data-mining subscription with Newsbank. Downloading entire series or papers is prohibited.

Abbreviation: awn
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1903–Current
Subjects: Communication, Hospitality
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
Factiva (20 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Factiva.com, from Dow Jones, includes access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events—especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
There is a 20 concurrent user limit.

Abbreviation: djfac
Vendor: Dow Jones & Company
Subjects: Business, Communication, Finance
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni offers a simple, intuitive research experience with flexible search options and tools to help guide students through common research tasks. Nexis Uni offers the same trusted content collection of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources that students and librarians alike have come to expect from LexisNexis, while also providing a better research experience.
Content:
Briefs, Pleadings and Motions
Cases
Company and Financial
Directories
Law Reviews and Journals
Legal News
News
Statutes and Legislation

Abbreviation: nexis
Vendor: LexisNexis
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Hospitality, Law, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Sociology
Type: Directories, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Proceedings
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Abbreviation: dailies
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Communication
Type: Newspapers and Newswires

Newspapers

New York Times (The) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is considered the "official" U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
See: New York Times 1980-Present Full Text (no images)
See also: New York Times 1923-2017 Full Text PDF
See also: New York Times 1851-2017 Full Text PDF

Abbreviation: nyt
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980–Current
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Tallahassee Democrat This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Abbreviation: talldemo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1999–Current
Subjects: Newspapers
Type: Citation Management, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It is an indispensable source for business professionals, providing business and financial news coverage, personal and company profiles, feature reporting, special reports, and regular columns.
Also see: ProQuest (for today's edition back to Jan 8, 2010) Wall Street Journal Online
Also see: Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition

Abbreviation: wsj
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1984–Current
Type: Citation Management, Newspapers and Newswires