Research Guides: Interior Design: Other Resources

Architecture and Decorative Arts Resources

Architecture

Decorative Arts

NA (1-9428) --- Architecture
NA (190-1555.5) --- Architecture History
NA (2000-2320) --- Studying and Teaching
NA (2599.5-2599.9) --- Architectural Criticism
NA (2695-2793) --- Architectural Design, Drawing
NA (2835-4050) --- Details and Decoration
NA (7100-7884) --- Domestic Architecture, Dwellings
NA (9000-9428) --- City Planning and Beautifying

See the LOC Classifications: Subclass NA for more.

NK (600-789) --- History (by period)
NK (802-839) --- Decorative Arts in the US; Folk Art; Antiques
NK (1390) --- General Design (decorative and industrial)
NK (1505-1590) --- Ornament, Pattern, Design
NK (1700-2195) --- Interior Decoration, House Decoration
NK (2200-2750) --- Furniture
NK (3600-3640) --- Calligraphy, Alphabets, Lettering
NK (8800) --- Textile Arts and Needlework

See the LOC Classifications: Subclass NK for more.

Architect-designed houses
Architecture
Architecture -- domestic
Architecture -- France 17th century
Domestic engineering
Dwellings -- United States
Ecological houses
Gardens -- design
Landscape design -- case studies
Model houses
Vernacular architecture

Auctions
Decorative arts
Interior decoration
Material culture
Decoration arts Islamic
Tapestry medieval
Art objects
Enamel and enameling
Ivory carving
Mosaics
Silverware

Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate
Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate is a comprehensive research database that covers a wide range of science and technology topics, including engineering, computer science, environmental studies, industrial technology, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies.
Abbreviation: astsu
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1909–Current
Subjects: Engineering, Business
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

ArchNet Digital Library
HCP implements conservation, urban regeneration and park and garden projects in historically significant sites of the Islamic world.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database)

Abbreviation: avery
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1865–Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art History, Interior Design, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

BCIN : Conservation Information Network
BCIN, the Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network, is the web's most complete bibliographic resource for the conservation, preservation and restoration of cultural property.
The British Library's RIBApix
RIBA’s image library of over 100,000 photographs and drawings from the RIBA Collections, available to view, buy and download.
Cities and Buildings Database
The Cities and Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web.
GreatBuildings Collection
Welcome to GreatBuildings, presenting one thousand selected classics of world architecture, and hundreds of their great designers, in the leading general architecture reference site.
RIBA Architectural Library Catalog
Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Library Catalogue.

Find additional architecture and decorative arts content in the suggested Art History databases list on the "Find Articles" tab.

accessCeramics
accessCeramics is a growing collection of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists enhancing ceramics education worldwide.
Corning Museum of Glass
This is your resource for exploring various topics in glass: delve deeper with this collection of articles, multimedia, and virtual books all about glass. Content is frequently added to the area, so check back for new items.
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and journals, image databases, and information on organizations, museums and research facilities.

Iter bibliography
Iter bibliography addresses many aspects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, such as archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and science, covering the years 400–1700. It provides citations for books, journals, and essays.
Abbreviation: iter
Vendor: Iter, University of Toronto Libraries
Coverage: 1784–Current
Subjects: History, Literature, Religion, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Musée des Arts Décoratifs
The Musée des Arts Décoratifs houses one of the world’s largest decorative arts collections with some 531,459 works divided into five chronological sections (the Middle Ages and Renaissance, the 17th and 18th centuries, the 19th century, Art Nouveau and Art Deco, Modern and Contemporary) and five thematic sections (graphic arts, jewelry, toys, wallpaper, glassware).

Project MUSE
Provides access to the full text of more than 700 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, and sociology.
Abbreviation: muse
Vendor: The Johns Hopkins University Press
Coverage: 1993–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Find additional architecture and decorative arts content in the suggested Art History databases list on the "Find Articles" tab.

Conservation Skills: Judgement, Method, and Decision by Chris Caple
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- CC135.C29 2000
A Glossary of Historic Masonry Deterioration Problems and Preservation Treatments by Anne E. Grimmer
Call Number: FSU STROZIER, Documents General Collection Ground Floor -- I29.2: H62/19
A Handbook on Historic Preservation Law by Christopher J. Duerksen
Call Number: FSU LAW LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- KF4310.H36 1983
Historic Cities and Sacred Sites: Cultural Roots for Urban Futures by Ismail Serageldin, Ephim Shluger, and Joan Martin-Brown
Call Number: FSU Electronic Resource See Link to Connect
Historic House Museum: A Practical Handbook For Their Care, Preservation, and Management by Sherry Butcher-Younghans
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- E172.B88 1993
Historic Preservation: An Introduction to its History, Principles, and Practice by Norman Tyler
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- E159.T95 2000
Preserving America: Historic Preservation and Heritage Tourism in Housing and [...] by U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development
Call Number: FSU STROZIER, Documents General Collection Ground Floor -- HH1.6/3: P92/2
Reaching Out, Reaching In: A Guide to Creating Effective Public [...] by Barry R. Lawson, Ellen P. Ryan, and Rebecca Bartlett Hutchison
Call Number: FSU STROZIER, Documents General Collection Ground Floor -- I29.9/2: R22
Science and Technology in Historic Preservation by Ray A. Williamson and Paul R. Nickens
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- CC135.S35 2000

American Landscape and Architectural Design 1850-1920
A Study Collection from the Harvard Graduate School of Design.
Architecture and Interior Design for 20th Century America
The Gottscho-Schleisner Collection is comprised of over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures.
Built in America
Includes Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering Record (HAER), and Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS). The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types and engineering technologies.
Charles Rennie Mackintosh Society
Charles Rennie Mackintosh - architect, designer and artist - is today celebrated internationally as one of the most significant talents of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. His birthplace, Glasgow, is central to an understanding of his achievements for it is here that the most important of his surviving work is to be found, all of which is publicly accessible.
Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation
The Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation exists to preserve Taliesin and Taliesin West for future generations, and to enrich society through an understanding of Frank Lloyd Wright’s ideas, architecture, and design.
Greene & Greene Digital Archive
The Greene & Greene Virtual Archives (GGVA) contains images of drawings, sketches, photographs, correspondence, and other historical documents related to the work of the architects Greene & Greene.
International Archive of Women in Architecture
The purpose of the Archive is to document the history of women's involvement in architecture by collecting, preserving, storing, and making available to researchers the professional papers of women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural historians and critics, and urban planners, and the records of women's architectural organizations.

Industry and Professional Resources

ADA Accessibility Guidelines for Buildings and Facilities (ADAAG)
The U.S. Access Board is a federal agency that promotes equality for people with disabilities through leadership in accessible design and the development of accessibility guidelines and standards for the built environment, transportation, communication, medical diagnostic equipment, and information technology.
Center for Universal Design
The Center for Universal Design (CUD) is a national information, technical assistance, and research center that evaluates, develops, and promotes accessible and universal design in housing, commercial and public facilities, outdoor environments, and products. Our mission is to improve environments and products through design innovation, research, education and design assistance.
IDEA (Center for Inclusive Design and Environmental Access)
The IDEA Center is not your ordinary design firm, university research center, or R&D company. It is a globally recognized center of excellence committed to creating and implementing inclusive design policies, practices, environments, and products. We’re a dynamic group of researchers united by our shared values. We’re committed to creating a more inclusive world – for our clients, our team, and our community.

Here is a small selection of books at FSU Libraries relating to Interior Design and Architecture Standards:

Interior Graphic and Design Standards by S. C. Reznikoff
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- NA2708.R49 1986
Architectural Graphic Standards for Architects, Engineers, Decorators, Builders and Draftsmen by Charles George Ramsey
Call Number: FSU DIRAC SCIENCE LIBRARY General Collection 1st Floor -- TH2031.R35 1936
Interior Graphic Standards by Maryrose McGowan
Call Number: FSU DIRAC SCIENCE LIBRARY Reference 2nd Floor -- TH2031.M34 2003
Planning and Urban Design Standards by Emina Sendich and American Planning Association Staff
Call Number: FSU DIRAC SCIENCE LIBRARY General Collection 1st Floor -- TH2031.P55 2006
Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning by Joseph DeChiara, Julius Panero, and Martin Zelnik
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- NK2110.T48 2001

Architonic Architonic focuses on the generation and distribution of knowledge and information among architects, designers, research and industry.
ASID Knowledge Center Interior Design Resources by ASID, including sustainable design, case studies, and other research resources.
Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network (BCIN) BCIN is the Web's most complete bibliographic resource for the conservation, preservation and restoration of cultural property. It contains nearly 200 000 citations, including the first 34 volumes of the Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA), published between 1955 and 1997.
Blue Book of Building and Construction The construction industry's premier information source. Includes directories of construction buyers and sellers, an online bid management system, and an online planning room with markup tools.
Building Green Publishing company specializing in green design information.
Center for Health Design The Center for Health Design helps healthcare and design professionals to improve the quality of healthcare through the built environment using evidence-based design (EBD).
Color Matters A professional blog focused on color psychology and branding.
Death by Architecture Website for architecture competitions and resources.
Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation Provides license information for and about architects and interior designers in Florida.
Healthy House Institute HHI seeks to reach a mainstream educated consumer with credible information merging the best of ‘green’ with the best of healthier homes research, indoor environmental data, health and medical science, into a practical, timely, easily digestible but comprehensive message. HHI strives to be a truly authoritative voice that has the ‘ear’ and trust of major media, influentials, and most importantly, the intelligent consumer.
International Contemporary Furniture Fair Annual showcase for contemporary design.
LEED Rating System USGBC created LEED to measure and define what green building meant, and to provide a roadmap for developing sustainable buildings. With LEED, we established a baseline—a universally agreed upon holistic system for reducing environmental impact.
National Design Awards The National Design Awards were conceived in 1997 by the Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum to honor the best in American design. The Awards program has expanded to include three new categories—landscape design, interior design, and design mind—for a total of 10 awards.
National Register of Historic Places The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.
The Pritzker Architecture Prize The international prize, which is awarded each year to a living architect for significant achievement, was established by the Pritzker family of Chicago through their Hyatt Foundation in 1979. Often referred to as “architecture’s Nobel” and “the profession’s highest honor,” it is granted annually.
U.S. Green Building Council EPA site dedicated to sustainable building. Includes information on energy and water efficiency, toxics reductions, and funding opportunities for designers and builders.
US Census American FactFinder American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Based in Washington, D.C., the AIA has been the leading professional membership association for licensed architects, emerging professionals, and allied partners since 1857.
American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) The American Society of Interior Designers is the leading organization for interior design professionals.
Council for Interior Design Accreditation The Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) is an independent, non-profit accrediting organization for interior design education programs at colleges and universities in the United States and internationally. For more than 35 years, this knowledge-driven organization has been passionately committed to the ongoing enrichment of the interior design profession through identifying, developing and promoting quality standards for the education of entry-level interior designers, and then encouraging, accrediting and supporting educational programs to aspire to those standards.
Design Futures Council A network of design, product, and construction leaders exploring global trends, challenges, and opportunities to advance innovation and shape the future of the industry and environment. Members include leading architecture and design firms, dynamic manufacturers, service providers, and AEC (architecture, engineering, construction) firms.
Interior Design Educators Council IDEC's mission is the advancement of interior design education and scholarship.
International Interior Design Association IIDA was founded in 1994 as the result of a merger of the Institute of Business Designers (IBD); the International Society of Interior Designers (ISID); and the Council of Federal Interior Designers (CFID).
Lighting Research Center The Lighting Research Center is the world's leading university-based research and education organization devoted to lighting - from technologies to applications and energy use, from design to health and vision.
National Council for Interior Design Qualification The core purpose of NCIDQ is to protect the health, life safety and welfare of the public by establishing standards of competence in the practice of interior design. The National Council for Interior Design Qualification serves to identify to the public those interior designers who have met the minimum standards for professional practice by passing the NCIDQ Examination.
National Kitchen and Bath Association (NKBA) In 1987, the NKBA established standards to provide consistent, quality education for students who wish to become kitchen and bathroom professionals. Educational institutions that have achieved accreditation have incorporated NKBA reference materials and resources into their curriculum. Students that graduate from an NKBA Accredited Program are uniquely qualified to earn an NKBA certification designation.
North Florida Chapter of the IIDA The IIDA North Florida Chapter is the voice of the Interior Design profession. We promote interior design as a profession that supports the health, safety and welfare of the public. Our mission is to enhance the quality of life through excellence in design and to advance Interior Design as a profession through knowledge, education and community outreach.
The Rocky Mountain Institute A non-profit organization focused on resource issues and energy policies. The Built Environment Team (BET) is a leader in the green building industry and transforms the built environment into a sustainable and regenerative global ecology.
Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) The RIBA is the UK body for architecture and the architectural profession.
Society of Architectural Historians (SAH) The SAH promotes the study and preservation of the built environment worldwide.