Research Guides: Geology: Online Resources

Journals and e-Journals

Databases & Effective Searching

Key Resources

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are covered. Renowned source for geology and earth science.
Coverage Includes:
- Areal geology
- Economic geology
- Engineering geology
- Environmental geology
- Extraterrestrial geology
- Geochemistry
- Geochronology
- Geophysics
- Hydrogeology and hydrology
Abbreviation: georef
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1669–Current
Subjects: Geology, Oceanography, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

USGS Publications Warehouse
USGS Publications Warehouse is a web application managed by the US Geological Survey Library that provides information and access to publications written by USGS authors.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

Additional Databases

Water Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Covers 1967- Current.
Subject coverage:
Groundwater
Lakes
Estuaries
Erosion and sedimentation
Water supply and conservation
Desalination
Water yield improvement
Water quantity management and control
Watershed protection
Water quality management
Water resources planning
Water law
Engineering works and hydraulics

Abbreviation: waterres
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1967–Current
Subjects: Earth Science, Environmental Sciences, *General Science, Oceanography
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Government Publications, Indexes / Catalogs

Annual Reviews
Authoritative, analytic reviews in 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

INSPEC (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
INSPEC contains over 15 million bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics. Access ends December 31, 2024.
Abbreviation: inspec
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1969–Current
Subjects: Engineering, Material Science, Physics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Artstor, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–Current
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Find Full Text

Often databases and indexes only provide a citation. To find the full text of an article:

Click in a database or "Find it @ FSU" in Google Scholar to be automatically redirected.
Enter citation information into FSU's Citation Linker.
Search the Library Catalog for the title of the journal. The catalog record may have a link to the journal's e-text or list of print holdings.
Request the article through Interlibrary Loan

Search Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar for scholarly articles. If the full text of an article is not available on the Web, check the journals listing at http://www.lib.fsu.edu/find/journals to see if it's available at FSU.