Skip to Main Content

Popular Culture

This guide is intended to help students find resources and scholarly works on popular culture. Relevant subjects may include, but are not limited to, film, television, music, genre fiction, advertisements, and gaming

Multiculturalism and Pop Culture

Gender, race, and class in media : a text-reader by Gail Dines and Jean M. Humez, editors.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- P94.65.U6G46 2003

Race, gender, media : considering diversity across audiences, content, and producers by [edited by] Rebecca Ann Lind.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- P94.5.M55R33 2004

Pop Culture, Gender, and Sexuality

Women and Cultural Policies (the UN's page on Gender Equality)

Dangerous curves : action heroines, gender, fetishism, and popular culture by Jeffrey A. Brown.
Feminism, domesticity and popular culture by edited by Stacy Gillis and Joanne Hollows.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- HQ1111.F458 2009
Men, women, and chain saws : gender in the modern horror film by Carol J. Clover
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor -- PN1995.9.H6C53 1992
Queer popular culture : literature, media, film, and television by edited by Thomas Peele.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor -- PN1992.8.H64Q44 2007
Sexualities and popular culture by Carl B. Holmberg.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- HQ23.H723 1998
White weddings : romancing heterosexuality in popular culture by Chrys Ingraham.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- HQ536.I545 2008
Women in popular culture : representation and meaning by edited by Marian Meyers.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- HQ1233.W5964 2008

Pop Culture and Class

Work on the "Political Economy" of culture

Society for Cinema and Media Studies Caucus on Class
Who Owns What (Columbia Journalism Review's list of what the major media companies own)
Marxist Media Theory
White Trash: The Construction of the American Scapegoat

Celebrity culture and the American dream : stardom and social mobility by Karen Sternheimer.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- HN57.S774 2011
Class-passing : social mobility in film and popular culture by Gwendolyn Audrey Foster.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- P94.65.U6F67 2005
Discourse on popular culture : class, gender and history in the analysis of popular culture by Morag Shiach.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- DA589.4.S45 1989
The meritocracy myth by Stephen J. McNamee and Robert K. Miller, Jr.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- HN90.S65M35 2004

Cultural Imperialism and Globalization

Cultural imperialism : essays on the political economy of cultural domination by edited by Bernd Hamm and Russell Smandych.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- GN365.C85 2005
Global television and film : an introduction to the economics of the business by Colin Hoskins, Stuart McFadyen and Adam Finn.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor -- PN1993.5.A1H67 1997
Here, there, and everywhere : the foreign politics of American popular culture by Reinhold Wagnleitner and Elaine Tyler May, editors.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- E169.12.H495 2000
No logo : brands, globalization, resistance
Call Number: STROZIER, Multimedia Center DVD -- HD2755.5.N655 2003

Pop Culture and Race

The Project on Race ( for students, scholars, educators, political professionals, members of the media and others who are interested in learning more about that which resides at the intersection of race, politics and communication.)
Black Cultural Studies

Black noise : rap music and black culture in contemporary America by Tricia Rose.
Call Number: Electronic Resource See Link to Connect
Dressing in feathers : the construction of the Indian in American popular culture by edited by S. Elizabeth Bird.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- E98.P99D72 1996
Representing 'race' : racisms, ethnicities and media by John Downing and Charles Husband.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- P94.5.M55D66 2005
The bronze screen : Chicana and Chicano film culture by Rosa Linda Fregoso.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor -- PN1995.9.M49F74 1993
Watching race : television and the struggle for "Blackness"
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor -- PN1992.8.A34G73 1995

The Florida State University Libraries
FIND & BORROW | RESEARCH & PUBLISH | VISIT & STUDY | COLLECTIONS | ABOUT | HELP & SUPPORT

© 2022 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706