Skip to Main Content
Extended Campus &
Distance Services Librarian
Battered Women's Justice Project
"Offers training, technical assistance, and consultation on the most promising practices of the criminal and civil justice systems in addressing domestic violence. Staff attorneys and advocates can provide information and analyses on effective policing, prosecuting, sentencing, and monitoring of domestic violence offenders."
Faith Trust Institute
"FaithTrust Institute is a national, multifaith, multicultural training and education organization with global reach working to end sexual and domestic violence."
National Center for Victims of Crime
"The National Center for Victims of Crime is a nonprofit organization that advocates for victims' rights, trains professionals who work with victims, and serves as a trusted source of information on victims' issues. After more than 25 years, we remain the most comprehensive national resource committed to advancing victims' rights and helping victims of crime rebuild their lives."
National Center on Elder Abuse
Administration for Community Living
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor)
Named a Best Reference Work for 2009 by Library Journal The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is published in both print and online. Arranged across eleven volumes in A-Z format, it is the definitive reference source for students, researchers, and academics in the field. This ground-breaking project brings together specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. It provides: "This is an example of a reference book turned into an e-product intelligently and in a way that transcends the print." - Library Journal An essential reference for expert and newcomer alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics Provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts Presents materials that have historically defined the discipline, but also more recent developments, significantly updating the store of sociological knowledge Introduces sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe Offers sophisticated cross-referencing and search facilities Features a timeline, lexicon by subject area, bibliography, and index 11 Volumes www.sociologyencyclopedia.com Updating
Publication Date: 2007-01-31
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence by Nicky Ali Jackson (Editor)
The Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence is a modern reference from the leading international scholars in domestic violence research. This ground-breaking project has created the first ever publication of an encyclopedia of domestic violence. The primary goal of the Encyclopedia is to provide information on a variety of traditional, as well as breakthrough, issues in this complex phenomenon. The coverage of the Encyclopedia is broad and diverse, encompassing the entire life span from infancy to old age. The entries include the traditional research areas, such as battered women, child abuse and dating violence. However, this Encyclopedia is unique in that it includes many under-studied areas of domestic violence, such as ritual abuse-torture within families, domestic violence against women with disabilities, pseudo-family violence and domestic violence within military families. It is also unique in that it examines cross-cultural perspectives of domestic violence. One of the key special features in this Encyclopedia is the cross-reference section at the end of each entry. This allows the reader the ability to continue their research of a particular topic. This book will be an easy-to-read reference guide on a host of topics, which are alphabetically arranged. Precautions have been taken to ensure that the Encyclopedia is not politically slanted; rather, it is hoped that it will serve as a basic guide to better understanding the myriad issues surrounding this labyrinthine topic. Topics covered include: Victims of Domestic Violence; Theoretical Perspectives and Correlates to Domestic Violence; Cross-Cultural Perspectives and Religious Perspectives; Understudied Areas within Domestic Violence Research; Domestic Violence and the Law; and Child Abuse and Elder Abuse.
Call Number: General Collection HV6626 .E534 2007
Publication Date: 2007-02-22
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence and Abuse by Laura L. Finley (Editor)
This comprehensive, two-volume work examines domestic abuse in the United States and worldwide, providing research, personal stories, and primary documents that reveal the extent of the problem. An estimated 1,300 to 1,800 Americans are murdered by intimate partners each year. Far from being a problem that only impacts women, domestic violence hurts society as a whole both socially as well as financially, with an estimated direct and indirect cost of nearly $6 billion annually in the United States. This book provides a timely and thorough reference for educators, students, scholars and activists seeking to better understand the global issue of domestic abuse. The entries document the history of the domestic violence prevention movement, provide explanations for abuse, identify warning signs of hidden abuse, describe types of victims and offenders, and supply information on interventions and prevention programs. Written by an array of experts in the field, the book also integrates the personal stories of survivors and addresses abuse as a global issue by covering topics such as acid attacks and female genital mutilation. Presents personal narratives that highlight the importance of each survivor's unique experience with abuse Includes primary source documents that address key legislation and court cases Provides a wide range of resources for researchers, such as recommended reading and film lists as well as state, national, and international organizations related to domestic abuse
Publication Date: 2013-07-16
Media in the Library
Child abuse : Neglect and Sexual Abuse (2005)
Defines neglect and discusses characteristics of negligent parents or guardians. Discusses effects of neglect on children of different ages, and describes the nonorganic failure-to-thrive syndrome.
Defending Our Lives : A Film About Domestic Violence (1999)
Shows the magnitude and severity of domestic violence in this country. This video features four women imprisoned for killing their batterers and their terrifying personal testimonies. Each of these women tells her own horrific tale of beatings, rape and torture at the hands of her husband or boyfriend.
Domestic Violence : Faces of Fear (1996)
Examines the crosscultural phenomenon of domestic violence and looks at how the medical community, law enforcement agencies, and corporate America are helping to end the silence. Highlights innovative responses throughout the country and around the world.
A Room Full of Men (2003)
This program examines male violence towards women by following three men with a history of abuse who have joined a program to help them stop their abusive behavior.
Safe : Inside a Battered Women's Shelter (2000)
This program presents the experiences of three women who sought to break the cycle of violence by seeking refuge at a safe house, a place providing sanctuary for physically abused mothers and their children.
There's no Place like Home : Growing up with Family Violence (2007)
Through a series of interviews, this documentary examines domestic violence.