Research Guides: Museum Studies & Cultural Heritage: Find Media

Find Media

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Tutorials:
Browsing Channels (3:20 minutes)
Clip Making (1:53 minutes)
Searching and Filtering (1:50 minutes)
Scrolling and Searchable Transcripts (1:13 minutes)

Abbreviation: asavon
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Type: Streaming Video

Art21 Videos
Art21 provides unparalleled access to the artist’s voice to diverse audiences around the world, using the power of digital media to introduce millions of people to contemporary art and artists. For over two decades, Art21 has changed the paradigm for teaching and learning about the creative process.
Dia: Watch & Listen
An archive of recorded programming at Dia.

Europeana This link opens in a new window
Europeana provides access to millions of books, music, artworks and more from European archives, libraries and museums with sophisticated search and filter tools.
Abbreviation: europeana
Vendor: European Union
Subjects: Archaeology, Art History, Cultural Heritage, Geography, History, Literature, Music
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Maps, Music Scores, Newspapers and Newswires, Open Access, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video
Films On Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection through a robust administrative reporting system.
Abbreviation: fod
Vendor: Films Media Group
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Streaming Video
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources.
Abbreviation: kanopy
Vendor: Kanopy
Subjects: Film Studies
Type: Streaming Video

Ubuweb
Aggregated repository of historical and contemporary avant-garde artworks spanning poetry, music, sound art, and experimental film/video.
!Women Art Revolution: Voices of a Movement
For over forty years, Director Lynn Hershman Leeson has collected hundreds of hours of interviews with visionary artists, historians, curators and critics who shaped the beliefs and values of the Feminist Art Movement and reveal previously undocumented strategies used to politicize female artists and integrate women into art structures.

For tips on finding more streaming content see our Streaming Video Research Guide or the full list of our streaming video databases.

The multimedia collection at Strozier Library consists of thousands of VHS and DVD titles across a wide variety of disciplines. Faculty may borrow these items for a 3-day loan period or designate them for course reserves each semester. Students may watch any of these titles in-house, at a viewing station on the Lower Level (see Circulation Desk staff on the main floor to get set up.)

To find VHS/DVD, begin with the OneSearch advanced search.
On the right side of the advanced search area choose "Video/Film" under the "Material Type" drop down menu.
The default search results include all formats of video and film, including VHS, DVD, and streaming. You can limit to physical media (VHS and DVDs) by using the left side filters: under "Availability" select "Available On Shelf" and under "Library" select "FSU STROZIER, Multimedia Ctr."
Click a result and you will find the location call number in the "Get It" section.

For more information about accessing films in any format at FSU, see the FSU Libraries Research Guide for Film.

Cultura Conscious Join Paula Santos, a podcast addict and lover of everything arts and culture, in conversation with other museum and cultural workers, educators, artists, activists, and leaders about how we work with our communities and the public at large. She is particularly interested in how the work we do is informed by larger questions of race and inequity in society.
The Memory Palace Nate DiMeo was the Artist in Residence at The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City for 2016/2017, during which time he produced eight stories inspired by the Met and its collection.
MuseoPunks Museopunks is a podcast for the progressive museum. Every month, Suse Anderson investigates the fascinating work and personalities in and around the museum sector. The Punks explore some of the sector’s most stimulating questions, institutions, and practices, with a focus on emergent, boundary-pushing work and ideas.
Museum Archipelago A tiny show guiding you through the rocky landscape of museums. Museum Archipelago believes that no museum is an island and that museums are not neutral.
Museum Confidential Museum Confidential is a behind-the-scenes look at museums hosted by Jeff Martin of Philbrook Museum of Art and produced by Scott Gregory with Public Radio Tulsa. New episodes every two weeks.
Museum of Lost Objects Tracing the histories of antiquities and landmarks that have been destroyed or looted in Iraq and Syria, India and Pakistan.
Museums in Strange Places Each episode visits a different museum to discover its stories, discusses challenges and triumphs with fascinating museum professionals (and volunteers), and gets to know each season’s country, state, or region through its museums.
On View On View is a series that explores how museums are evolving to keep pace with society, how they can become welcoming to a wider public, and how technology offers new opportunities to reach audiences.
Queering Museums A podcast series about the LGBTQ museum and gallery workers that are bringing queer stories to life in cultural spaces.
Raw Material: A Podcast from SFMOMA Raw Material is an arts and culture podcast from the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. Each season we partner with a different “podcaster-in-residence” to explore modern and contemporary art through a new lens. Along the way we bring you voices of artists and thinkers from around the globe who offer surprising perspectives on the world through their work.
Speaking Culturally Speaking culturally will examine the recognition and preservation of cultural heritage in the United States. We also will look at trends in museum studies directly connected to cultural heritage.
The Wonder House A new podcast series that shares some of the most innovative contemporary approaches to decolonising museums so that we are all empowered and inspired to learn and experiment.