Research Guides: Art Education: Find Articles

Find Articles

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
ABM is used by students and researchers around the world to pinpoint publications and writings relevant to their area of study. Its extensive classification system and comprehensive abstracts make it an ideal source for information on artists, art movements, art history and theory, design, photography, and crafts.

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database)

Resource URL: http://search.proquest.com/artbibliographies/advanced?accountid=4840
Abbreviation: artbibmod
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Art Index Retrospective and Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective: 1929–1984 provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews. Art Full Text is a foundational art research database providing full-text art journals and books. It covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=art
Abbreviation: artind
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1929–1984
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=asu
Abbreviation: eas
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1914–present
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a digital library more than 1.5 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
The ARTstor Digital Library is used by educators, scholars, and students at a variety of institutions including universities, colleges, museums, public libraries, and K-12 schools. The Digital Library serves users both within the arts and in disciplines outside of the arts. This includes historians of art and architecture and others engaged in the visual arts, as well as individuals in fields as diverse as American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Literary Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Religious Studies, and Renaissance Studies, all of whom find the images in ARTstor to be relevant to their teaching and research.

Tutorials:
Using ARTstor
Training videos on YouTube

Resource URL: http://library.artstor.org/library/welcome.html
Abbreviation: artstor
Vendor: ARTstor
Subjects: Archaeology, Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Classics, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Images
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
Tutorials:
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Resource URL: http://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch
Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–present
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources. Users can accessand simultaneously cross-searchan expanding range of Oxfords acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies.
Resource URL: http://www.oxfordartonline.com
Abbreviation: grove-art
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Biographies, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Images, Indexes / Catalogs
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993).
[*http://muse.uq.edu.au/journals Mirror server if link is not working.]

Resource URL: http://muse.jhu.edu/journals
Abbreviation: muse
Vendor: The Johns Hopkins University Press
Coverage: 1993Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1987–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text is a research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=eft
Abbreviation: eduidx
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1969–Current
Subjects: Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Education Source This link opens in a new window
The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=eue
Abbreviation: ees
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator—from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete is the perfect complement for any library that utilizes the ERIC database, because it provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC. This database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty.
Resource URL: https://link.gale.com/apps/PROF?u=tall85761
Abbreviation: erc
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1932–Current
Subjects: Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Resource URL: http://search.proquest.com/eric/advanced?accountid=4840
Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some links to full text.
Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Resource URL: http://search.proquest.com/psycinfo/advanced?accountid=4840
Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1887–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Resource URL: https://webofknowledge.com/WOS
Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

These are just some of the important Arts journals we have subscriptions to at FSU. While most journals are available online many print titles in the visual arts are not, but they remain equally important resources. Check the Libraries' catalog for complete access and holdings information.

Research tip: when looking for a specific journal you can search by its ISSN, rather than its title. Like a book's ISBN, journals have an 8 digit ISSN that uniquely identifies them (example: Journal of Art for Life is 2164-2273).

These are just some of the Education and Psychology journals we have subscriptions to at FSU. Check the Libraries' catalog for complete access and holdings information. For more tips on finding articles in these disciplines, see the FSU Libraries' Education Research Guide and Psychology Research Guide.

Access instructions for Google Scholar for FSU patrons:

Go to http://scholar.google.com
Click on the upper left menu icon and select "settings"
Click on "library links" on left side bar
Type "Florida State University" into the search box and search
Mark the check box for "Florida State University - Find It @ FSU"
Click "save"

For more on Google Scholar, see the FSU Libraries Google Scholar Research Guide.