Research Guides: *Hospitality: [Food] International Food &amp; Culture

Databases

AtoZ World Food This link opens in a new window
AtoZ World Food covers food culture for 174 countries of the world in six categories: National Cuisine, Regional Cuisine, Daily Meals, Dining Etiquette, Special Occasion Foods, and Food Trivia. Traditional recipes for appetizers, soups, salads, breads, main courses, side dishes, desserts, snacks, and beverages are included.
Abbreviation: azwf
Vendor: World Trade Press
Subjects: Cultural Heritage, Food
Type: Historical / Primary Sources
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. There is full text for more than 200 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Abbreviation: hosptour
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1965–Current
Subjects: Business, Hospitality, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. The curious traveler will also find a wealth of information, from contents on state parks and information on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's.
Activities, facilities, theory, research, policy, and planning in the fields of leisure, recreation, sport, culture, and tourism.

Abbreviation: htlc
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Business, Hospitality, Sport Management
Type: E-Journal Collections

Books

Food Culture in Germany by Ursula Heinzelmann
Call Number: eBook
Food Culture in France by Julia Abramson
Call Number: TX719 .A237 2007 (@Dirac)
Food Culture in South America by Ainoa Larrauri (Translator); José Rafael Lovera
Call Number: TX716.A1 L68 2005 (@Dirac)
Food Culture in Italy by Fabio Parasecoli
Call Number: GT2853.I8P37 2004 (@Strozier)
Food Culture in Great Britain by Laura Mason
Call Number: TX717 .M387 2004 (@Dirac)
Food Culture in the Near East, Middle East, and North Africa by Peter Heine
Call Number: GT2853.M628H45 2004 (@Strozier)
African American Food Culture by William Frank Mitchell
Call Number: GT2853.U5 M57 2009 (@Strozier)
Drink: : A Cultural history of Alcohol by Iain Gately In the tradition of wildly popular histories such as Salt, an intoxicating tour of the cause ofand solution toall of lifes problems: alcohol Alcohol is a fundamental part of western culture and an essential element of Christianity. It is the most controversial part of our diet, simultaneously nourishing and intoxicating. We have been drinking as long as we have been human, and for better or worse, alcohol has shaped our civilization. Drink investigates the history of this Jekyll and Hyde of fluids, tracing mankinds love/hate relationship with alcohol from ancient Egypt to the present day. Along the way it scrutinizes the drinking habits of presidents, prophets, and barbarian hordes, and features drinkers as diverse as Homer, Ernest Hemingway, William Shakespeare, Al Capone, Benjamin Franklin, and Thomas Jefferson. Drink further documents the contribution of alcohol to the birth and growth of the United States, taking in the War of Independence, the Pennsylvania Whiskey revolt, the slave trade, and the failed experiment of national Prohibition. Finally, it provides a history of the worlds most famous drinksand the worlds most famous drinkers. Enthusiasts of craft brews and fine wines will discover the origins of their favorite tipples. Packed with trivia and colorful characters, Drink amounts to a sloshed history of the world: Better make it a double.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Food History Almanac by Janet Clarkson The Food History Almanac covers 365 days of the year, with information and anecdotes relating to food history from around the world from medieval times to the present. The daily entries include such topics as celebrations; significant food-related moments in history from the fields of science and technology, exploration and discovery, travel, literature, hotel and restaurant history, and military history; menus from famous and infamous meals across a wide spectrum, from extravagant royal banquets to war rations and prison fare; birthdays of important people in the food field; and publication dates for important cookbooks and food texts and first known recipes. Food historian Janet Clarkson has drawn from her vast compendium of historical cookbooks, food texts, scholarly articles, journals, diaries, ships logs, letters, official reports, and newspaper and magazine articles to bring food history alive. History buffs, foodies, students doing reports, and curious readers will find it a constant delight. An introduction, list of recipes, selected bibliography, and set index, plus a number of period illustrations are added value."
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Food & Culture
This database presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Covers from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines.
The Oxford Encylopedia of Food & Drink in America
This e-Book presents history and culture of food and drink in America. 770 entries on wide-ranging topics from airline and funeral food to fad diets and fast food; drinks like lemonade, Kool-Aid, and Tang; foodstuffs like Jell-O, Twinkies, and Spam; and Dagwood, hoagie, and Sloppy Joe sandwiches.
The Oxford Companion to Food
by Alan Davidson
c2006.
eBook.

Websites for International Cuisine

Global Gourmet
Country profiles along with recipies associated with that country's or region's cuisine

Epicurious.com
At the advanced search, select cuisine of your choice for recipes

Epicureantable.com
For Spanish and Turkey Cuisines

Journals and Magazines

Food, Culture & Society
CuiZine: the Journal of Canadian Food Culture
Smithsonian Magazine - Food section

Tip: If FSU Libraries do not have the journal you want, request an Interlibrary Loan for the article.
For scholarly journals on Hospitality & Tourism, see here or search Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.