Research Guides: Finance: Finance Data Resources at COB

College of Business - List of Software & Datasets

FSU COB Datasets & Software
List of the datasets available at the College of Business to students and faculty. Contact Ray Markey for support.

Useful Links

Matching Data in Financial Databases
Princeton Libraries has created a list of major finance research databases and how to match the data elements.

Data Resources at COB

Top Databases

WRDS - Wharton Research Data Service
WRDS acts as a data interface to various financial and economic databases including AuditAnalytics, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, Bank Regulatory Databases, Blockholders, CBOE Indexes, CUSIP Service Bureau, DMEF Academic Data, Dow Jones Averages, Eventus, FDIC Data, Fama French & Liquidity Factors, Federal Reserve Bank , I/B/E/S, Philadelphia Stock Exchange, Penn World Tables, Risk Metrics , SEC Order Execution, Trade Reporting and Compliance Engine, Thomson Reuters - 13F Institutions/Insider Filings/Stock Ownership Summary, Zacks Trial.
COMPUSTAT via WRDS (limited access)
COMPUSTAT (from Standard & Poor's) provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items on more than 24,000 publicly held companies. The COMPUSTAT databases available through FSU's WRDS subscription include Full Package, Bank, BackData Segment, Back Data, Global Package; and EXECUCOMP. Access is limited to College of Business.
more...less...
Access is allowed to the following only:
1. Faculty accounts are available to all standing faculty of the FSU College of Business.
2. Staff (IT/Librarian) accounts are provided for full-time support personnel of member institutions.
3. Visiting Faculty accounts apply to visiting faculty (non-permanent or part-time position). These accounts are subject to additional review and may not be used after the visiting appointment ends.
4. Ph.D. accounts are available to all currently registered Ph.D. candidates of the FSU College of Business.
5. Masters Student accounts are available to full-time masters students. These accounts allow unlimited access via the WRDS website. These accounts do not include disk storage. Please note: Masters accounts will not have access to WRDS during summer break.
6. Research Assistants (supervised students only) accounts apply to students doing active research under faculty supervision. These accounts require a faculty sponsor.
7. Class (Faculty Requestor Only) accounts can only be requested by standing faculty of the FSU College of Business and provide a means for Undergraduate and MBA students to use WRDS as part of a registered class or course project.
CRSP via WRDS (limited access)
Center for Research in Security Prices maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolio, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases. 1925 to date.
more...less...
Access is allowed to the following only:
1. Faculty accounts are available to all standing faculty of the FSU College of Business.
2. Staff (IT/Librarian) accounts are provided for full-time support personnel of member institutions.
3. Visiting Faculty accounts apply to visiting faculty (non-permanent or part-time position). These accounts are subject to additional review and may not be used after the visiting appointment ends.
4. Ph.D. accounts are available to all currently registered Ph.D. candidates of the FSU College of Business.
5. Masters Student accounts are available to full-time masters students. These accounts allow unlimited access via the WRDS website. These accounts do not include disk storage. Please note: Masters accounts will not have access to WRDS during summer break.
6. Research Assistants (supervised students only) accounts apply to students doing active research under faculty supervision. These accounts require a faculty sponsor.
7. Class (Faculty Requestor Only) accounts can only be requested by standing faculty of the FSU College of Business and provide a means for Undergraduate and MBA students to use WRDS as part of a registered class or course project.
Bloomberg via Trading Room
Bloomberg integrates information, analytics, research and pricing for several market sectors, while providing business news and and articles. Access is limited to Department of Finance students.
Datastream (WRDS Thomson/Refinitiv)
Contains global time series data from corporate, government, and intergovernmental sources covering financial data, including markets, valuation, securities, constituent lists, sector indices, exchange-trade derivatives, fixed income, and more. FSU subscription includes equities, commodities, futures, and economics data.
Manual: https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/pages/support/manuals-and-overviews/thomson-reuters/datastream/

Business Librarian

Trip Wyckoff

Email Me

Contact:

Room 0027k
Strozier Library
Basement

850-645-1475

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Data Analytics and Information Systems, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Sports & Recreation Management

Finance

College of Business - List of Software & Datasets

Useful Links

Data Resources at COB

Top Databases

Business Librarian

COB - List of Sofware and Datasets