Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Writing a Literature Review in Social Sciences

3 Ways To Find Scholarly Journals

Three common ways to find scholarly journal articles:

1. At the Journal Search page of the FSU OneSearch, limit your search results to Peer-Reviewed Journals.
2. Search an article database and then limit the search to scholarly (peer-reviewed or refereed) materials; or 
3. Locate a journal and verify if it is a scholarly one, using Ulrich's Global Serials Directory database.


If you are still unsure of whether a journal is a scholarly journal or not, the best source to turn to is an expert in your field. Ask your professor or ask your librarian.

1. Journal Search at FSU OneSearch

Run a keyword search at the Journal Search, then limit your results by Peer-Reviewed Journals. 

2. Search an Article Database then Limit the Search

1) At a subject database (such as ABI/INFORM Complete)

2) Enter a keyword at the search box and select Peer reviewed option (if available)

Example search on ProQuest ABI/INFORM Complete with "Peer reviewed" option box selected. 

3. Then select Scholarly Journals to limit the results

Search results page for example search with red arrow pointing to "Scholarly Journals"

 

 

3. Search Ulrich's Global Serials Directory database

1) Open  Ulrich's Global Serials Directory database

2) Click on Advanced Search link

3) Enter keywords at the search box (such as Marketing)

4) Limit your results > Content Type:  check "Academic/Scholarly" box

Example search on Ulrichsweb: searching by title "marketing"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This way you will find a set of academic/scholarly journals in the field of marketing.

 

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706