Writing a Literature Review in Social Sciences

• Dissertations & Theses (Florida State University only) (PQDT, ProQuest)
  This ProQuest database includes dissertations and theses produced in FSU only.  ETDs since 2003.  
• FSU Research Repository's Theses & Dissertation Collection  
• For more information, see  Finding FSU Theses & Dissertations guide. 

1) At  ProQuest Dissertations & Theses  database  

2) Enter keywords and limit the search by "doctoral dissertations" only. 

Most of the top research schools have their own institutional repository where they store electronic theses/dissertations authored by their graduates. Depending on the agreements between the students and the university (i.e., embargo), some dissertations/theses might be available for the public. 

1) At Google Search, try the following search statement to locate Institutional Repository of an institution:

            
                    "institutional repository" university of iowa 

2) Once you are in the repository,  use title, author, or subject keywords to locate the item in their Theses/Dissertations collection

If the fulltext is not available in the repository, try the ProQuest Dissertations or Theses Full-Text database or request an Interlibary Loan.

Global Dissertations

• Dissertations & Theses (Global)

  Proquest Dissertations and Theses database covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. Many titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital form full-text.
  Introduction to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Database (a PPT handout)

• Article database in the Social Sciences field such as ERIC (ProQuest)

  Many discipline-related theses and dissertations are indexed in the databases.

• Center for Research Libraries Foreign Dissertations
  More than 800,000 doctoral dissertations produced for universities outside of the United States and Canada. These can be requested through FSU Libraries' Interlibrary Loan. Read more on their dissertation collection... 

• WorldCat (OCLC WorldCat Discovery
  Provides access to over 5 million records of dissertations and theses available in library collections.

• Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

  Browse or search through several ETD collections, typically across multiple institutions at once.

• Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)

  Source for open access theses and dissertations around the world.

• Theses Canada Portal
  Approximately 300,000 records of theses and dissertations on microform in Library and Archives Canada's collection. Of these approximately 50,000 are also available electronically.
   
• EThOS (Electronic Thesis Online Service from the British Library)
  Research theses produced in U.K. universities. Register free to download the theses.
   
• Dart-Europe E-Theses Portal

  DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. 

• Australasian Digital Theses in Trove
  A free repository of Australian material, including almost a million Australian theses.