Research Guides: French & Francophone Studies: Finding Books & Dissertations

Browsing the Stacks

Library of Congress Call Number Ranges for Browsing:

French Language: PC 2001-3800 (4th Floor)
French Literature: PQ 1 - 4000 (5th Floor)
French History: DC 1 - 989 (3rd Floor)

UBorrow
Borrow books from any of the 11 state universities in Florida. It's faster than ILL and renewals can be requested. Start by searching the FSU catalog, then click on the blue UBorrow icon at the top of your search results. Select the book you want and click on the blue UBorrow link again to request it.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request books and journal articles from libraries around the world. Use ILL to request materials not available at FSU.
WorldCat (OCLC)
WorldCat (OCLC) contains over 40 million citations to books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials and much more, representing holdings of most libraries in North America and some in Europe.
Florida Community College Libraries
Search the union catalog for all of Florida's community college libraries or the catalog for any of the individual libraries.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
An excellent resource for books, periodicals, manuscripts, newspapers, and archival materials in print, microfilm, and digital formats. FSU is a member of this consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries, which allows FSU patrons to borrow CRL materials via interlibrary loan for extended periods.

HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library contains millions of books digitized from library collections across the country. FSU users have access to many full text documents and can create new collections of material. To learn how to log into HathiTrust using Shibboleth see our guide to HathiTrust (http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/hathitrust).
Gutenberg-e
Award winning monographs from Columbia University Press, coordinated with the American Historical Association, afford emerging scholars new possibilities for online publications, weaving traditional narrative with digitized primary sources, including maps, photographs, and oral histories.

ARTFL
A compendium of French texts, mostly from the Renaissance-20th century.
Classiques Garnier Numerique -- La Critique litteraire (19th Century Literary Works)
Provides full-text, key-word searchable access to primary texts and reference works.
Classiques Garnier Numerique -- La Revolution et l'Empire (The Writings of 19th century historians on the Revolution and Empire)
Provides full-text, key-word searchable access to primary texts and reference works.
Classiques Garnier Numerique -- Les Ecrits sur l'art (Writings on Art from the 18th to 20th Centuries)
Provides full-text, key-word searchable access to primary texts and reference works.

French books before 1601
FSU Remote Storage 2 Microfilm -- Film 2133
See the Accompanying Guide:
STROZIER Library -- Micromaterials -- Micr Z2162.B86
French books, 1601-1700
FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 3560
See the Accompanying Guide:
STROZIER Library -- Micromaterials -- Micr Z2162.F74
Books printed in the low countries before 1601
FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 4072
See the Accompanying Guide:
STROZIER Library -- Micromaterials -- Micr Z2402.B6

DART Europe E-Theses Portal
"DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. DART-Europe is endorsed by LIBER (Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche), and it is the European Working Group of the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)."
Theses.fr
Index to all theses defended in France since 1985. It has both French and English interfaces and some theses are available full-text.
CRL - International Dissertation Catalog
As a CRL member institution, FSU has free and unlimited use of CRL collections through interlibrary loan.