Research Guides: French & Francophone Studies: Home

Welcome!

Denis Diderot This guide is intended to help you find resources for research and learning about French and Francophone language, literatures, and cultures.

Other Relevant Research Guides:

Key Resources

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is another excellent resource for books, periodicals, manuscripts, newspapers, and archival materials in print, microfilm, and digital formats. FSU belongs to this international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries, which allows FSU patrons to borrow CRL materials via interlibrary loan for extended periods.

One way to identify key collections is through CRL Topic Guides. See, for example, the Topic Guide for France.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Works of interest to scholars are included whether they are written for a scholarly or a more general audience, provided that the content or its treatment places them within the scope of the bibliography. Masters' theses, guides that are essentially plot summaries, and other apprentice or simplified works are excluded.
Abbreviation: mla
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1921-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Abbreviation: galelit
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1400-Current
Subjects: Literature, Theatre
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Subject coverage:
Anthropological linguistics
Applied linguistics
Descriptive linguistics
Discourse analysis
Language - pathological and normal
Learning disabilities
Nonverbal communication
Phonetics
Phonology
Psycholinguistics

Abbreviation: llba
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973-Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Asian Studies, Communication, Communication Disorders, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes journal articles covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450–present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
Abbreviation: hist-abs
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1964-Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, History, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
Tutorials:
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665-present
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993).
[*http://muse.uq.edu.au/journals Mirror server if link is not working.]

Abbreviation: muse
Vendor: The Johns Hopkins University Press
Coverage: 1993Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections