Research Guides: Italian Studies: Film & Performance

Film & Performance Resources

Film & Television Literature Index
Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing with cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 publications.
Abbreviation: ftl-ind
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Communication, Film Studies, Literature
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Archivio del Cinema Italiano
Archives of Italian cinema 1905 - 2005

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Works of interest to scholars are included whether they are written for a scholarly or a more general audience, provided that the content or its treatment places them within the scope of the bibliography. Masters' theses, guides that are essentially plot summaries, and other apprentice or simplified works are excluded.
Abbreviation: mla
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1921–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more; drawing from both current files and selected back files to 1864. Over 160 full-text publications are included.
Subject coverage:
Dance
Theater
Film
Mime
Opera
Puppetry
Radio
Television
Storytelling
Video
Performance Art

Abbreviation: iipa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1864–Current
Subjects: Dance, Literature, Music, Theatre
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
A global, multidimensional resource for music researchers with content spanning dozens of counties and languages. Full-text coverage includes articles and reviews as well as obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, and news, published from the early 20th century to the present. Subject areas include musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, instruments, pedagogy, performance, and all other disciplines related to music.
Abbreviation: rilm
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1923–Current
Subjects: Music, Music Education, Music Therapy
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Kanopy Streaming Video
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources.
Abbreviation: kanopy
Vendor: Kanopy
Subjects: Film Studies
Type: Streaming Video
Films On Demand: Master Academic Collection
Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection through a robust administrative reporting system.
Abbreviation: fod
Vendor: Films Media Group
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Streaming Video
Theatre in Video
Theatre in Video: Volume I brings together hundreds of the world’s most important plays, documentaries, interviews, and instructional materials in more than 500 hours of streaming video. Volume II brings together 400 additional hours of classic and contemporary plays and documentaries.
Tutorial:
Tutorial on the Video Player

Abbreviation: tiv
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Subjects: Literature, Theatre
Type: Biographies, E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources, Streaming Video

Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by many influential performers and companies of the 20th century, available online in streaming video. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as pioneers of modern concert dance. This release includes 768 works, equaling 501 hours.

Music Online: Listening Plus
Music Online: Listening Plus is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers. Includes Classical Music, American Song, Jazz Music, Smithsonian Global Sound, Popular Music, and Contemporary World Music.
Abbreviation: musp
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Subjects: Dance, Music
Type: Streaming Audio, Streaming Video
Naxos Music Library
The most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 1,452,000+ tracks, including Classical music, Opera, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.
Abbreviation: naxos
Vendor: Naxos
Subjects: Dance, Music
Type: Streaming Audio

A Companion to Italian Cinema by Peter Brunette (Editor); Frank Burke (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

Publication Date: 2017
The History of Italian Cinema by Gian Piero Brunetta; Jeremy Parzen (Translator)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor -- PN1993.5.I88B745 2009

Publication Date: 2009
Historical Dictionary of Italian Cinema by Gino Moliterno
Call Number: E-Book

Publication Date: 2008
Il Morandini 2016 : dizionario dei film e delle serie televisive by Laura, Luisa e Morando Morandini
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- PN1998.M67 2016

Publication Date: 2015

Literature Resource Center
Gale Literature Resource Center provides students access to up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 175,000 writers in all disciplines, time periods, and regions of the world.
Abbreviation: galelit
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1400–Current
Subjects: Literature, Theatre
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance by Dennis Kennedy (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

Publication Date: 2010
A History of Italian Theatre by Joseph Farrell (Editor); Paolo Puppa (Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor -- PN2671.H57 2006

Publication Date: 2006
Renaissance Comedy: the Italian masters by Don Beecher
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor -- PQ4149.R46 2008

Publication Date: 2008

2 Volumes

Library of Congress Subject Headings for Italian Film & Performance

Dance music -- Italy
Italian Drama
Theaters--Italy--History
Theaters--Italy--Stage setting and scenery
Motion pictures--Italy.
Motion pictures--Italy--Catalogs.
Motion pictures--Italy--History.
Motion pictures--Italy--History and criticism.

Italian Studies

Humanities Librarian

Film & Performance Resources

Library of Congress Subject Headings for Italian Film & Performance

Italian Langauge Films @ Strozier