Research Guides: Japanese Studies: Home

Modern Languages Librarian

Jonathan DaSo

he/him

Email Me

Contact:

Office Hours Spring 2023:
Thursday, 3-5 pm Diffenbaugh 365

(850) 739-3264

Subjects: Modern Languages

Ask a Librarian

Welcome

Welcome to the FSU Libraries' Japanese Studies research guide!

In this guide you will find links to resources for searching and locating material for the study of Japanese history, language, and literature. It is meant to jumpstart the research process, please contact Amauri Serrano, subject librarian for history and modern languages, for further assistance.

Related Guides:

Cover: Gomeicha sugoroku (1875)
http://japanmaps.davidrumsey.com/luna/servlet/s/v8u78r

Key Resources

JapanKnowledge
JapanKnowledge is an online web archive that boasts the largest corpus of encyclopedia, dictionaries, reference compilations, and periodical resources (approximately 50 different sources) in Japan. JapanKnowledge’s cross-search brings results from its wide-ranging libraries, from dictionaries of a variety of language besides Japanese and English to encyclopedias of history that delve deeply into historical facts and book series.

FSU has access to JapanKnowledge Lib, Kokushi Daijiten, and Shinpen Kokka Taikan.

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 840,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. The disciplinary scope of the BAS is in general intended to cover the humanities, the social sciences, architecture and those natural sciences that have strong human components, such as medicine, public health, geology and the environment.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bas
Abbreviation: bas
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1971–Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, History, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy & Ethics, Religion
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Google Scholar [see description for access instructions] This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar uses Google's search engine to provide a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Using the link within Google Scholar, you may also link to resources that FSU owns. For more information, visit our Google Scholar LibGuide.
To access FSU resources from Google Scholar, please follow these instructions:
- Go http://scholar.google.com
- Click on the hamburger menu on the upper left hand side and click on "Settings"
- Click on Library links
- Type Florida State University in the box that appears
- Click on the blue Search button
- Click in the check box next to "Florida State University- Find It @ FSU" (Not Cengage Gale Full Text)
- Click on Save
- Scholar should now recognize you as an FSU patron
Resource URL: http://scholar.google.com
Abbreviation: gsch
Vendor: Google
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes journal articles covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450–present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hia
Abbreviation: hist-abs
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1964–Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, History, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs