Skip to main content
Artwork of the Day from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
A few subject headings you can use when searching Libraries' catalog...
- Architecture -- History
- Art -- Bibliography
- Art, Early Christian
- Art -- Historiography
- Art -- History
- Art -- Italy
- Art and history
- Art and society
- Art criticism-Historiography
- Art criticism-Methodology
- Art criticism-Philosophy
- History of printmaking
- Feminism and art
Library of Congress Call Numbers
Browse these call number ranges for serendipitous discovery of art history books.
- N --- Fine arts
- N 5300-7429 --- Art History
- NA --- Architecture
- NB --- Sculpture
- NC --- Drawing. Design. Illustration
- ND --- Painting
- NE --- Print media
- NK --- Decorative arts
- NX --- Arts in general
- TR --- Photography
- TT --- Handicrafts, Arts and Crafts
Welcome to the art history research guide! Use this guide to find books, articles, images, and other resources about the history of art. Please contact me if you have any questions or to make suggestions of resources to add to this guide.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers authoritative research guides on a wide variety of topics. Find introductory essays and annotated lists of books and articles to help you with your research.
Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective*
Art Full Text features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and more. Art Index Retrospective provides indexing and abstracts of art literature dating back to 1913. Here both resources can be searched together.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)*
Continues Bibliography of the History of Art beginning with 2008. (The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art, and is published exclusively by ProQuest. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA)
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)*
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Avery Architectural Index*
Contains records describing articles in over 1,000 architectural periodicals in the fields of architecture and related disciplines.
ARTstor is a digital library more than 1.5 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Bibliography of the History of Art*
Contains records describing the current literature of art, including books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and journal articles in more than 2,500 periodicals. Coverage ended in 2008, but is continued in the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
An archive of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
Distance & Outreach Coordinator
This guide created by Caley Cannon (2009) and updated by Jessica Evans Brady (2013).