Research Guides: Museum Studies & Cultural Heritage: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the FSU Libraries' Museum Studies and Cultural Heritage Research Guide

The Enlightenment Room at the British Museum.

Catalog Tips and Tricks

These are my recommendations for your best bets in researching Museum Studies and Cultural Heritage topics. For additional links and resources please see the navigation bar on the left side of this research guide.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
Abbreviation: anthplus
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1869-Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Linguistics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
Abbreviation: eas
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1914-present
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a digital library more than 1.5 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
The ARTstor Digital Library is used by educators, scholars, and students at a variety of institutions including universities, colleges, museums, public libraries, and K-12 schools. The Digital Library serves users both within the arts and in disciplines outside of the arts. This includes historians of art and architecture and others engaged in the visual arts, as well as individuals in fields as diverse as American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Literary Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Religious Studies, and Renaissance Studies, all of whom find the images in ARTstor to be relevant to their teaching and research.

Tutorials:
Using ARTstor
Training videos on YouTube

Abbreviation: artstor
Vendor: ARTstor
Subjects: Archaeology, Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Classics, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Images
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
Tutorials:
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665-present
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993).
[*http://muse.uq.edu.au/journals Mirror server if link is not working.]

Abbreviation: muse
Vendor: The Johns Hopkins University Press
Coverage: 1993Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Use the Library of Congress Classification Outline to browse for books in your subject area. Here are some examples in the visual arts, museum studies, and cultural heritage studies to get you started:

AM --- Museums, Collectors, and Collecting
AM (111-160) --- Museology; Museum Methods, Technique, etc.
CC --- Archaeology
CC (135-137) --- Preservation, Restoration, Conservation of Antiques; Antiques and State
N --- Fine Arts
N (5300-7429) --- Art History
NA --- Architecture
NB --- Sculpture
NC --- Drawing, Design, and Illustration
ND --- Painting
NE --- Print Media
NK --- Decorative Arts
NX --- Arts in General
TR --- Photography
TT --- Handicrafts, Arts, and Crafts

The following are just a few subject headings that may be used when searching the Libraries' catalog:

Architecture -- History
Art -- Conservation and Restoration
Art -- History
Art -- Modern
Art -- Protection
Art and history
Cultural Property
Historical Museums
Museum Conservation Methods
Museum Exhibits
Museums -- Administration
Museums and Schools
Museums -- Educational Aspects
Museums -- History
Museums -- Law and Legislation

http://beets1278.blogspot.com/2012/10/boolean-logic-is-not-logical.html

These FSU Research Guides may be of interest to your research; a full list of guides can be found here. Each guide will also include contact information for the subject librarian in that area of study: