Research Guides: *Art History: Find Reviews

Databases with Art Reviews

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Hint: Use "reviews" as the subject.
Abbreviation: eas
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1914–Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
Hint: Choose "exhibition review" as descriptor (DE).
ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
ABM is used by students and researchers around the world to pinpoint publications and writings relevant to their area of study. Its extensive classification system and comprehensive abstracts make it an ideal source for information on artists, art movements, art history and theory, design, photography, and crafts.

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database)

Abbreviation: artbibmod
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Art Index Retrospective and Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Hint: Under "document type" select "exhibit" as the type.
Abbreviation: artind
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1929–1984
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Humanities and Social Sciences Full Text (plus Retrospective) This link opens in a new window
Hint: Under "document type" select "exhibit" as the type.
Abbreviation: humanities
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1907–1984
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Hint: Find the "all news" link under the "news" on the left-hand bar. Search here for exhibition reviews.
Content:
Briefs, Pleadings and Motions
Cases
Company and Financial
Directories
Law Reviews and Journals
Legal News
News
Statutes and Legislation

Abbreviation: nexis
Vendor: LexisNexis
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Hospitality, Law, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Sociology
Type: Directories, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Proceedings
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Hint: Use two fields - search for artist or exhibition title in first field and add a second field with "document type" on the corresponding drop down menu. Select "art exhibit review" as your document type.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

Historical Newspapers

African American Newspapers, 1827–1998 This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to 280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
Abbreviation: afamnp
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1827–1998
Subjects: African-American Studies, Communication, History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690–1922 This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of newspaper titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this collection chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from the colonial era to the early twentieth century, with especially good coverage of the nineteenth century. Note: FSU has access to African American Newspapers, Series 1; Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1; Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 12: The Specialized Press.
Abbreviation: eana
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1690–1922
Subjects: Communication, History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Offers full-page-images and article images from the New York Times newspaper from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand primary source accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Abbreviation: nythist
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1850–Current - 3 years
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires

For more newspapers resources and research tips see the FSU Libraries Newspapers Research Guide.