Research Guides: Evaluating Entrepreneurial Technologies: Scientific Papers and Journal Access

FSU Databases

These databases index science and engineering research papers. Visit FSU's Research Guides tab fat lib.fsu.edu for specific departments and discipline resource suggestions.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to all ACM journals, magazines, and Special Interest Group conference proceedings. A wide range of computer- and information-science topics are covered from 1947 to the present. The ACM Digital Library is published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
Abbreviation: acm
Vendor: Association for Computing Machinery
Coverage: 1947-Current
Subjects: Communication, Computer Science, Engineering, Library & Information Science
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
American Chemical Society, (ACS), publishes more than 40 peer-reviewed journals with cutting-edge articles across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines including energy, fuels, toxicology, agriculture, food, and biochemistry from 1996–Current.
Tutorials:
ACS Web Editions guide (PDF)
Pair a Device (PDF)
Search and Browse (03:46 minutes)

Abbreviation: acsweb
Vendor: ACS Publications
Coverage: 1996-Current
Subjects: Chemistry
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
AIP Conference Proceedings This link opens in a new window
The series includes more than 100,000 papers published in 1,500 volumes. Each year, 100 new volumes (some 8,000 papers) are added every year to this popular collection. With a scope as broad as physics itself, AIP Conference Proceedings provides researchers and students with access to a substantial and diverse collection of papers that record the work presented at selected international scientific meetings. Published promptly after contributors present their findings, AIP Conference Proceedings offers the scientific community timely access to breakthrough results: providing a unique barometer of current research.
Register to create your user account to subscribe to alerts and the RSS feed

Abbreviation: aipcp
Vendor: AIP Publishing
Coverage: 1970-Current
Subjects: Physics
Type: Proceedings
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable, full-text access to original scholarly review articles. These review articles provide periodic examination of scholarly advances in a number of scientific fields as well as reviews of the current state of research in a field. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. FSU has access to the Sciences and Economics collections.
Tutorials:
Website guided tour
The timeline below shows when specific topics are covered in the video.

00:00-00:46 min. - Annual Reviews Homepage and Login
00:47-01:15 min. - My Account Features
01:16-02:11 min. - Homepage Browse Features and Access Icons
02:12-02:30 min. - Journals Tab (Browse)
02:31-04:21 min. - Journal Homepage Features
04:22-05:13 min. - Table of Contents Page Features
05:14-05:42 min. - Abstract Page Features
05:43-06:41 min. - Full-Text Journal Page Features
06:42-08:45 min. - Content Box Features (Figures and References)
08:46-09:02 min. - Search Features
09:03-09:48 min. - Search Results Page and Filtering Options

Annual Reviews Mobile App

Abbreviation: annrev
Vendor: Annual Reviews
Coverage: 1932–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Economics, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences APA PsycInfo covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.
Topics include:

Biological and Developmental Processes
Behavioral Neuroscience
Canadian Journal of Behavioural Science/Revue canadienne des sciences du comportement
Developmental Psychology
GeroPsych: The Journal of Gerontopsychology and Geriatric Psychiatry
Journal of Comparative Psychology
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Animal Learning and Cognition
Journal of Psychophysiology
Neuropsychology
Psychology and Aging

Clinical
Crisis: The Journal of Crisis Intervention and Suicide Prevention
European Journal of Psychological Assessment
International Journal of Play Therapy
Journal of Abnormal Psychology
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology
Journal of Counseling Psychology
Journal of Latina/o Psychology
Journal of Psychotherapy Integration
Professional Psychology: Research and Practice
Psychoanalytic Psychology
Psychological Assessment
Psychological Services
Psychological Trauma: Theory, Research, Practice, and Policy
Psychology of Violence
Psychotherapy
Rorschachiana
Schizophrenia Bulletin
Training and Education in Professional Psychology

Cognitive/Learning/Education
Dreaming
Journal of Educational Psychology
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Applied
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Human Perception and Performance
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory, and Cognition
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Psychology
School Psychology Quarterly

Core
American Psychologist
Canadian Journal of Experimental Psychology/Revue canadienne de psychologie exprimentale
Canadian Psychology/Psychologie canadienne
History of Psychology
Journal of Experimental Psychology: General
Journal of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology
Methodology: European Journal of Research Methods for the Behavioral and Social Sciences
Nordic Psychology
Psychological Bulletin
Psychological Methods
Psychological Review
Review of General Psychology
Translational Issues in Psychological Science
Zeitschrift fr Psychologie

Human Resources/Industrial/Organizational/Management
Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research
Journal of Applied Psychology
Journal of Diversity in Higher Education
Journal of Neuroscience, Psychology, and Economics
Journal of Occupational Health Psychology
Journal of Personnel Psychology

Health
Experimental and Clinical Psychopharmacology
Families, Systems, & Health
Health Psychology
International Journal of Stress Management
Psychology of Addictive Behaviors
Rehabilitation Psychology

Social Psychology and Social Processes
American Journal of Orthopsychiatry
Asian American Journal of Psychology
Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology
Emotion
Group Dynamics: Theory, Research, and Practice
Journal of Family Psychology
Journal of Latina/o Psychology
Journal of Media Psychology: Theories, Methods, and Applications
Journal of Personality and Social Psychology
Motivation Science
Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity, and the Arts
Psychology of Men & Masculinity
Psychology of Religion and Spirituality
Psychology, Public Policy, and Law
Social Psychology

Abbreviation: psyapa
Vendor: American Psychological Association
Coverage: 1894-Current
Subjects: Art Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Medicine, Music Education, Psychology, Sociology, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Covers significant engineering and technical literature from journals (over 3,600), technical reports, engineering society publications, books, and conference proceedings and papers (over 15.8 million records, with more than 650,000 added annually). Access ends December 31, 2024.
Tutorials:
EngineeringVillage YouTube channel

Abbreviation: compendix
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1988-Current
Subjects: Chemistry, Engineering, Material Science
Type: Indexes / Catalogs, Proceedings, Reports

Chemistry
Engineering
Material Science
Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
Abbreviation: compdb
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1980-Current
Subjects: Computer Science
Type: Indexes / Catalogs, Proceedings, Reports
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 6,000,000 summaries of journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings dating from 1970 forward as well as more than 10,000 web site abstracts, and 80 full-text searchable handbooks, patents and standards. Access ends December 31, 2024.
Abbreviation: eng-infovillage
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1970-Current
Subjects: Engineering, Material Science
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current and draft IEEE standards.
Topic areas:
Aerospace
Bioengineering
Communication, Networking & Broadcasting
Components, Circuits, Devices & Systems
Computing & Processing (Hardware/Software)
Engineered Materials, Dielectrics & Plasmas
Engineering Profession
Fields, Waves & Electromagnetics
General Topics for Engineers (Math, Science & Engineering)
Geoscience
Nuclear Engineering
Photonics & Electro-Optics
Power, Energy, & Industry Applications
Robotics & Control Systems
Signal Processing & Analysis
Transportation

Abbreviation: ieee
Vendor: IEEE
Coverage: 1988-Current
Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering, Material Science
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Proceedings, Standards, Testing / Tutorials
INSPEC (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
INSPEC contains over 15 million bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics. Access ends December 31, 2024.
Abbreviation: inspec
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1969-Current
Subjects: Engineering, Material Science, Physics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Nature Journals This link opens in a new window
Nature journals cover the cutting edge of science, technology and medicine, and provide high impact reviews of their fields through prestigious multi-disciplinary titles from Nature Research and a variety of discipline-specific academic journals.
Abbreviation: nature
Vendor: Springer Nature
Coverage: 1845Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Medicine
Type: E-Journal Collections
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library features 1,500 journals, over 14,000 books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works, databases, and other resources.
Tutorials:
Wiley Online Library Tutorials

Subjects include:
Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Science
Architecture & Planning
Art & Applied Arts
Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting
Chemistry
Computer Science & Information Technology
Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences
Humanities
Law & Criminology
Life Sciences
Mathematics & Statistics
Mathematics
Statistics
Medicine
Nursing, Dentistry & Healthcare
Physical Sciences & Engineering
Psychology
Social & Behavioral Sciences
Veterinary Medicine

Abbreviation: wiley
Vendor: Wiley
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections