This guide was created support research for Psychopathology in Clinical Practice (SOW5125) and Evaluation of Practice (SOW5432). However, the content can be used by anyone with similar research questions about either diagnostic or psychometric validation
A library database is an organized collection of electronic information that allows a user to search for a particular topic, article, or book. Library databases contain published works which are written by professionals or experts in the field and provide citation information such as author, title, publication, publisher, etc. It is searchable in a variety of ways (e.g. keyword, subject, author, title, date, etc.)
How to access FSU library databases
FSU libraries provide about 550 databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases. Our library databases offer a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases including journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as books from leading information providers.
Access FSU library databases
Use your FSUID and password to logon to FSU library databases (The same credentials as BlackBoard). Unfortunately, we are unable to provide off-campus access to non-active students and staff due to licensing restrictions by our database vendors. If you are not currently enrolled in classes for the current semester (semesters are Fall, Spring, and Summer), are auditing a class, or are not actively employed by Florida State University, you will be unable to access these resources from off-campus.
If your password is not being recognized, and you're an active student or faculty, you will need to contact the FSU Help Desk to reset your password: (850) 644-HELP (4357)
Search for databases at FSU Libraries
You can find the databases from our library homepage by clicking 'Databases' menu and search by keyword or view the databases by subject, Most or an A-Z list of all subjects.
Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly
Articles are excellent for finding:
Literature reviews or sources to write a literature review
Critical analyses of research, literature or major issues
Scholarly perspectives about issues on a specific topic or subject
Information on current events
Articles can either be scholarly or non-scholarly in nature.
Articles in scholarly journals generally have been reviewed by an editorial board, have gone through some type of peer-review process, and are the in-depth, primary account of original findings written by the researcher(s) in their field of academic interest. Many but not all professional journals are peer-reviewed.
Articles in popular magazines, newspapers and trade publications on the other hand are written from a non-scholarly perspective. They are generally not peer-reviewed, favor a much more informal writing style, and often have no, or only very brief, bibliographies. Non-Scholarly articles can be helpful but it just depends on what your research needs are.
Peer-reviewed articles are reviewed by experts in that subject or field to ensure validity and reliability before publication. These articles should be used as sources for research papers. Another name for peer-reviewed is refereed.