Below are some common terms that we use in E-Resources. They may come in handy to help you better understand your troubleshooting process.
Aleph/Mango/Catalog: When we’re talking about Mango, we’re referring to the interface which is maintained by FLVC found here. This is also referred to as the Catalog although that term is becoming outdated and is fairly librarian specific. This is one of the reasons why it’s listed as Catalog on the website, since those links are primarily for librarians or faculty. ALEPH refers to our Integrated Library System, which includes catalog records, user accounts, holdings, and some systems like UBorrow. So Mango searches ALEPH using ALEPH’s records and user accounts. ALEPH is a client based system available on certain library workstations, and cannot be accessed via the web.
Database: a general term for an electronic resource that allows searching of information. It contains holding materials that patrons may use or view for research or casual viewing. Content available in databases can include article abstracts, aggregated full-text, datasets, eBooks, and eJournals. Find the Databases A-Z list here.
Cache: a hardware or software component that stores data so that future requests for that data can be served faster; the data stored in a cache might be the result of an earlier computation or a copy of data stored elsewhere. Definition provided by Wikipedia.
Cookies: small files which are stored on a user's computer. They are designed to hold a modest amount of data specific to a particular client and website, and can be accessed either by the web server or the client computer. Definition provided by this website.
eJournal Search / Publication Finder – eJournal Search is FSU Libraries branding for EBSCO’s product, Publication Finder. Publication Finder can search for all electronic serials and eBooks activated in EBSCO’s Holdings Management. The interface provides a link to the journal in any resource we have it available in, displaying a link and the date range available.
Holdings Management – Licensed electronic titles and collections are kept track of in EBSCO’s Holdings Management. These represent a complete list of holdings, but these may or may not be indexed through EBSCO Central Index or discoverable through OneSearch. Previously, FSU Libraries utilized Serials Solutions for this function.
IP Address: IP stands for “Internet Protocol” and is assigned to a computer by an internet provider. An IP Address is essentially your computer’s street address in that it changes based on where you are located and what Wi-Fi service you are using (a coffee shop’s Wi-Fi, the school’s, or your home’s). Visit this website to find out your IP address: https://whatismyipaddress.com/
Link resolver: Link resolvers provide customized lists with title-level metadata to libraries for ease of content discoverability and full-text linking. Link resolvers work in tandem with discovery services allowing libraries to indicate their holdings and accessible content with links to the full-text. Definition provided by Springer Nature
OneSearch/EDS – OneSearch is FSU Libraries branding for our discovery system, which is a product of EBSCO, called EDS. EDS is a Discovery platform that provides access to Catalog/Mango records and Electronic Resources in a “one stop shop” search environment. It utilizes the EBSCO Central Index to provide access to approximately 99% of our electronic collections
Webpage: an Internet-based document, usually in HTML format, that can contain a wide variety of information and multimedia content.
Website: a collection of webpages that is hierarchically organized around a homepage.
Web browser: a computer program that downloads webpages. It is the program installed on your computer that you use to access webpages on the Internet.