Skip to Main Content
Suggested Keywords for Browsing Books
- Body Language
- Communication in Families
- Eye Contact
- Intergenerational Communication
- Interpersonal Communication
- Interpersonal Conflict
- Long-distance Relationships
- Nonverbal Communication
- Social Interaction
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks
The Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships by With the field of personal relationships having grown dramatically in the past quarter century, The Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships, Second Edition serves as a benchmark of the current state of scholarship, synthesizing the extant theoretical and empirical literature, tracing its historical roots, and making recommendations for future directions. Written by internationally known experts from key disciplines, the Handbook addresses both fundamental questions and cutting-edge concerns. This second edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect recent developments in analytical techniques, shifts in theoretical emphases, and an increased attention to social processes. New chapters include the Neuroscience of Salutary Close Relationships; Self-Disclosure in Relationships; Acceptance, Rejection, and the Quest for Relational Value; Relationships and Physical Health; Personal Relationships and Technology in the Digital Age; and Promoting Healthy Relationships. This compendium of state-of-the-art research and theory on personal relationships will be of great value to researchers, graduate students, and practitioners.
Call Number: eBook (w/unlimited access)
Publication Date: 2018 (2nd ed.)
Engaging Theories in Interpersonal Communication: Multiple Perspectives by Offering insights from a WhoÆs Who of scholars in interpersonal communication Engaging Theories in Interpersonal Communication: Multiple Perspectives highlights theories used to guide interpersonal communication research, featuring chapters written by leading scholars of interpersonal communication. Presenting both classic and cutting-edge issues, the book organizes theories into three clustersùtheories that are individually-centered; theories that are focused on discourse and interaction processes; and theories that examine how communication functions in personal relationships. Key Features Presents chapters written by the scholars who developed the theories or who use the theories extensively in their own research Begins with an overview chapter written by the editors that lays out their perspective on theory and the current landscape of theory in interpersonal communication Offers a parallel organizational structure in all chapters to ease comparison across theories Includes overviews provided by the editors to help readers integrate and digest the multiple theories covered in the volume Intended Audience Upper-level undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in such courses Applied Communication, Communication Theory, Communication Research, Interpersonal Communication, Personal Relationships, and Relational Communication in the fields of speech and human communication, family studies, and social psychology.
Call Number: P94.7 .E54 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Handbook of Interpersonal Communication by Interpersonal communication (IC) is a continuous game between the interacting interactants. It is a give and take - a continuous, dynamic flow that is linguistically realized as discourse as an on-going sequence of interactants' moves. Interpersonal communication is produced and interpreted by acting linguistically, and this makes it a fascinating research area. The handbook, Interpersonal Communication , examines how interactants manage to exchange facts, ideas, views, opinions, beliefs, emotion, etc. by using the linguistic systems and the resources they offer. In interpersonal communication, the fine-tuning of individuals' use of the linguistic resources is continuously probed. The language used in interpersonal communication enhances social relations between interactants and keeps the interaction on the normal track. When interaction gets off the track, linguistic miscommunication may also destroy social relationships. This volume is essentially concerned with this fine-tuning in discourse, and how it is achieved among various interactant groups. The volume departs from the following fundamental questions: How do interpersonal relations manifest themselves in language? What is the role of language in developing and maintaining relationships in interpersonal communication? What types of problems occur in interpersonal communication and what kind of strategies and means are used to solve them? How does linguistically realized interpersonal communication interact with other semiotic modes? Interpersonal communication is seen and researched from the perspective of what is being said or written, and how it is realized in various generic forms. The current research also gives attention to other semiotic modes which interact with the linguistic modes. It is not just the social roles of interactants in groups, the possible media available, the non-verbal behaviors, the varying contextual frames for communication, but primarily the actual linguistic manifestations that we need to focus upon when we want to have a full picture of what is going on in human interpersonal communication. It is this linguistic perspective that the volume aims to present to all researchers interested in IC. The volume offers an overview of the theories, methods, tools, and resources of linguistically-oriented approaches, e.g. from the fields of linguistics, social psychology, sociology, and semiotics, for the purpose of integration and further development of the interests in IC., Topics e.g.: Orientation to interaction as primarily linguistically realized processes Expertise on theorizing and analyzing cultural and situational contexts where linguistic processes are realized Expertise on handling language corpora Expertise on theorizing and analyzing interaction types as genres Orientation to an integrated view of linguistic and non-linguistic participant activities and of how interactants generate meanings and interact with space Expertise on researching the management of the linguistic flow in interaction and its successfulness.
Call Number: eBook (w/ unlimited access)
Publication Date: 2008
The Routledge Handbook of Family Communication by With a synthesis of research on issues key to understanding family interaction, as well as an analysis of many theoretical and methodological choices made by researchers studying family communication, the Handbook serves to advance the field by reframing old questions and stimulating new ones. The contents are comprised of chapters covering: theoretical and methodological issues influencing current conceptions of family; research and theory centering around the family life course communication occurring in a variety of family forms individual family members and their relationships dynamic communication processes taking place in families family communication embedded in social, cultural, and physical contexts. Key changes to the second edition include: updates throughout, providing a thorough and up-to-date overview of research and theory new topics reflecting the growth of the discipline, including chapters on "singles" as family members, emerging adults, and physiology and physical health. Highlighting the work of scholars across disciplines--communication, social psychology, clinical psychology, sociology, family studies, and others--this volume captures the breadth and depth of research on family communication and family relationships. The well-known contributors approach family interaction from a variety of theoretical perspectives and focus on topics ranging from the influence of structural characteristics on family relationships to the importance of specific communication processes.
Call Number: eBook (w/ 4 user access)
Publication Date: 2012
The SAGE Handbook of Family Communication by Upper level students and researchers in media and communication studies, family studies and family policy. Click on "Find it @ FSU" button on the catalog record page to access the full text
Publication Date: 2014
The SAGE Handbook of Nonverbal Communication by This first of its kind handbook provides an up-to-date discussion of the central issues in nonverbal communication and examines the research that informs these issues. Editors Valerie Manusov and Miles Patterson bring together preeminent scholars, from a range of disciplines, to reveal the strength of nonverbal behavior as an integral part of communication.
Call Number: eBook (w/unlimited access)
Publication Date: 2006