Industry - ENT 4504 - Business Plans for Social Entrepreneurs - Research Guides at The Florida State University

Associations

Industry Databases - National / International

NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)
Provides nine of its most popular publications: Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, Register, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Earnings Guide, The Outlook, and Dividend Record.
more...less...
Click on "Industries" tab to
IBISWorld
Provided through a contribution from the Jim Moran Institute for Global Entrepreneurship in partnership with University Libraries.
Covers over 700 U.S. industries, 60 global industry reports, and 160 Chinese industry reports. Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging trends, recent production performance and 5 year forecasts. Company Reports on over 8000 companies.
more...less...
Provided through a contribution from the Jim Moran Institute for Global Entrepreneurship in partnership with University Libraries.
Covers over 700 U.S. industries, 60 global industry reports, and 160 Chinese industry reports. Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging trends, recent production performance and 5 year forecasts. Company Reports on over 8000 US, Canadian and global public trade companies, sourced via Hemscott. Also includes over 300 economic and demographic reports.

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
BCC Research is a market research and forecasting company providing industry reports for business categories such as biotech, chemicals, energy, engineering, environment, food and beverage, fuels cell and battery technologies healthcare, information technology, instrumentation and sensors, manufacturing, membrane and separation technology, nanotechnology, pharmaceuticals, plastics, safety and security, and semiconductor manufacturing. BCC publishes over 250 market research reports annually.
Tutorials:
BCC Research YouTube Channel

Abbreviation: bccr
Vendor: BCC Research LLC
Coverage: Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics
SMA: Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
SMA: Sports Market Analytics combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by VNU, the world's largest sporting goods trade publisher, and newsletters provided by leading independent industry experts. Subjects covered include sporting goods industry, sports sponsorship and marketing, broadcasting, facilities, broadcasting and new media.
Single sport/product search include:
Archery
Backpacking
Badminton
Baseball
Basketball
Bicycling
Billiards
Bowling
Cheerleading
Camping/Hiking Climbing
Equestrian
Exercise/Fitness
Eyewear
Fishing
Footwear
Football
Golf
Gymnastics
Hunting/Shooting
Ice Hockey
Inline Skating
Lacrosse
Martial Arts
Motorsports
Paintball
Rugby
Running/Jogging
Scooter Riding
Skateboarding
Skiing
Snowboarding
Soccer
Softball
Tennis
Volleyball
Water Sports (All)
Winter Sports (All)
Women's Total Market
Wrestling

Abbreviation: sbrnet
Vendor: SBRnet
Subjects: Business, Communication, Marketing, Sport Management, Sport Psychology, Statistics
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Journal Collections, Government Publications
WGSN This link opens in a new window
WGSN (Worth Global Style Network) is the leading online trend-analysis and research service providing creative and business intelligence for the apparel, style, design and retail industries. Keywords: Trade Shows, Marketing, Retail, Celebrity, Buying, Visual, Merchandising, Business.
Note: FSU has access to the Fashion Module.

Abbreviation: wgsntex
Vendor: WGSN
Subjects: Business, Interior Design, Marketing, Retail Entrepreneurship
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Images, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video

Industry - Local

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect is a flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information, including private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Tutorials:
Quick Search Guide (2:25)
Company Advanced Search (2:33)
Build a File (3:11)
Consumer Lifestyle (2:10)

Abbreviation: mergint
Vendor: Mergent
Subjects: Business, Finance
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories
DemographicsNow (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
Demographics Now has been developed by SRC, LLC to bring you the data you need to make sound business decisions. With DemographicsNow you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S. Ceases publication on March 28, 2025.
Abbreviation: demnow
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Geography, Hospitality, Public Health
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Maps

Use phonebooks and Internet mapping resources to identify potential competitors.

Use Internet review tools (Yelp, Zamato, TripAdvisor, etc.) to track and study your competition.

Review Sites