Research Guides: Caribbean Studies: Getting Started

Welcome!

Caribbean Studies is an interdisciplinary subject area which involves at least 19 countries, languages and cultures (Spanish, African, English, French, Portuguese, and Indigenous) and many subject disciplines, including anthropology, art and art history, history, Economics, geography, language and literature, music, political science, religion, and sociology.

Related Guides:

Key Resources

A list of digital libraries, bibliographies, and databases to begin your research.

Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
The University of Miami's Cuban Heritage Collection's Digital Libraries
Provides access to digitized manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps, lectures, oral histories, and other resources held in the University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Collection, which is a repository for primary and secondary sources of Cuba and the Cuban diaspora from colonial times to the present.
Handbook of Latin American Studies Online (1936-1989)
A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook.
Handbook of Latin American Studies Web (1990 to present)
bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook.
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
Administered by the University of Texas Austin, provides access to official (government), scholarly, and popular internet portals to information on Latin America for virtually every subject available.
more...less...
The site also has special collections accessible on the left-hand side menu of the homepage, including:
- LAGDA Gov Docs Archive (full-text versions of official documents and video and audio recordings of key regional leaders) – can browse by country
- LAOAP Open Archives Portal (Collaborative Project between Latin Americanist Research Resources Project
- LARRP and LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America.)
- LAPTOC (Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents). Provides access to tables of contents for different journals – can browse list of journal titles by country and link to Tables of Contents)
- Electoral Observatory (reports on latest elections – news, overseeing agencies)
- TILAN Networking Trends (resource center that seeks to document trends regarding expansion of the Internet throughout the countries of Latin America. Includes full text of research reports and articles; statistics: tables containing data on a variety of indicators typically sought by individuals interested in Internet growth in Latin America; summaries of basic networking statistics and key resources for further information for each Latin American country; subject directory of links to related resources throughout the Web
- Zapatistas!
- Etext Collection (conference papers from Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies, Latin American Studies Association, Association for the Study of Cuban Economy, Presidential Messages, The Sustainable Development Reporting Project (year-long endeavor to look at the most promising and important sustainable development programs in Central America, made possible by a grant from the Mexico City office of the Ford Foundation), Individual books, theses, papers, and other publications hosted as part of the Etext Collection
Selected Bibliography of US Government and International Documents on Latin America and the Caribbean
Identifies many excellent starting points for research on Latin America and the Caribbean.

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Subjects:
African Studies
African American Studies
American Literature
Anthropology
Art History
Atlantic History
Biblical Studies
British and Irish Literature
Buddhism
Childhood Studies
Chinese Studies
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Communication
Criminology
Ecology
Education
Hinduism
International Law
International Relations
Islamic Studies
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Linguistics
Literary and Critical Theory
Medieval Studies
Military History
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health
Renaissance and Reformation
Social Work
Sociology
Victorian Literature

Abbreviation: oxbib
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Religion, Urban and Regional Planning, *General / Multi-Subject, Bibliography
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Research Starter
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Works of interest to scholars are included whether they are written for a scholarly or a more general audience, provided that the content or its treatment places them within the scope of the bibliography. Masters' theses, guides that are essentially plot summaries, and other apprentice or simplified works are excluded.
Abbreviation: mla
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1921–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Subject coverage:
Anthropological linguistics
Applied linguistics
Descriptive linguistics
Discourse analysis
Language - pathological and normal
Learning disabilities
Nonverbal communication
Phonetics
Phonology
Psycholinguistics

Abbreviation: llba
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Asian Studies, Communication, Communication Disorders, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Citation Management

Citation Guide
Offers citation assistance for APA, MLA, and Chicago style guide and how to manage citations using with Zotero, RefWorks, & Mendeley.
Citation Analysis
Guide designed to bring together library resources and services that would be useful to anyone doing citation analysis

Caribbean Studies

Modern Languages & Linguistics Librarian

Ask a Librarian

Welcome!

Key Resources

Citation Management