Research Guides: Demography: Home

Welcome

Source: US Census Multimedia Gallery http://www.census.gov/multimedia

Welcome to FSU Libraries' Research Guide for Demography!. Use this guide to find articles, data and tons of other useful resources

Key Resources/Databases

To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the "Find it @ FSU" button in the database. Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection. Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.

Demographics Now
Demographics Now has been developed by SRC, LLC to bring you the data you need to make sound business decisions. With DemographicsNow you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S.
Demography
Published by the Population Association of America, a non-profit professional organization of demographers. Demography includes research conducted in several disciplines, including the social sciences, geography, history, biology, statistics, business, epidemiology and public health.

Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Abbreviation: srmo
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Communication, Rhetoric & Composition, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Research Starter, Streaming Video

ICPSR
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction since 1962.

Social Explorer (1 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
An online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information.
Please note Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed.
Tutorials:
Social Explorer LibGuide

Abbreviation: socex
Vendor: Center for Research Libraries
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps

Sociological Abstracts
Sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women's studies.

One Search

Subject Specialist Librarian

Mila Turner

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Demography and Population Studies, Sociology

FSU Center for Demography and Population Health

Demography at FSU
Brings together researchers working on identifying and explaining the causes and consequences of trends in population and health.