Research Guides: Enslavement and Sharecropping in Florida: Other Manuscript Collections

Special Collections & Archives

Visit SCA Online

Special Collections & Archives Website

FSU Library Catalog
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database

FSU Digital Repository

Email SCA Staff

Visit SCA In-Person

Visit SCA Spaces

SCA Reading Rooms Hours

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Claude Pepper Library
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217

Other Manuscript Collections of interest

These are examples of manuscript collections that are not arranged as the personal papers or business records of known enslavers.

Explore manuscript collections not easily defined by who created or collected them.

Letter and Documents Pertaining to Land and Land Grants in Tallahassee, Florida
An index of land grants made to local enslavers and plantation owners such as the Eppes, Bradford, and Gamble families.
Red Hills of Florida Collection
The collection includes the materials used by Clifton Paisley during the writing of his book Red Hills of Florida. Included are oral history transcripts and photocopies of records documenting enslavement and sharecropping in the Red Hills Region of Florida.
Slavery Papers
The Slavery Papers contain several records dating to territorial Florida. Included is a senate vote on the introduction of enslaved people into the Florida Territory, a list of enslaved persons owned by Trombley Smith, and a quitclaim deed documenting the sale of an enslaved woman.
Walker Papers
The papers of George Wythe Walker document the sale of land to enslavers and plantation owners around Leon County.

Image: Manuscript senate journal vote on introducing enslaved people in the Florida Territory.

"U.S. Senate Vote Regarding Slavery in Territorial Florida," March 6, 1822, Box 157, Folder 3, Slavery Papers, MSS 1956-230, Florida State University Special Collections & Archives.