Research Guides: Environmental Studies : Home

Welcome

Image Source: http://cerpa.appstate.edu

Welcome to FSU Libraries' Research Guide for Enviornmental Studies. Use this guide to find journal articles, data and much more.

On-campus resources for Environmental Studies

Key Resources/Databases

To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the "Find it @ FSU" button in the database. Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection. Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.

Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Abbreviation: srmo
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Communication, Rhetoric & Composition, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Research Starter, Streaming Video

Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
Extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts from 1985-
ICPSR
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction since 1962.
General Science Full Text
140 titles, including areas of astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, earth science, environmental issues, mathematics, medicine, physics, and zoology
Link includes access to database, training tutorials and mobile apps

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as open-access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Abbreviation: green
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1898–Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Other Helpful Databases

Envoronmental Studies is interdisciplinary by nature. In addition to the key resources listed above, you may need to use a broad range of academic databases during your studies.

Social Explorer (1 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Note: Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed. Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data. Able to create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Engagement between society and science.
Tutorials:
Social Explorer LibGuide

Abbreviation: socex
Vendor: Center for Research Libraries
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text. Formerly called Web of Science. Now part of the Web of Knowledge.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

Sage: Urban Studies and Planning Full-Text Collection
Covers such subjects as Anthropology, Economic Development, Economics, Education, Environmental Science, Planning Pedagogy, Planning Practice, Planning Theory, Policy Analysis, Political Science, Public Administration, Regional Geography, Regional Science, Residential and Community Development, Social, Spatial, and Cultural Dynamics, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Urban Culture, Urban Geography, Urban Policy, Urban Politics, and Welfare Economics.
Demographics Now
Demographics Now has been developed by SRC, LLC to bring you the data you need to make sound business decisions. With DemographicsNow you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1987–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Artstor, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–Current
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides citations and abstracts from over 600 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics. Coverage includes urban, rural and regional economics, public finance, international economics, banking, labor economics, country studies, economic history, demography, law & economics, industry studies, government regulations, business, economic development, cultural economics, agricultural and natural resources economics, and health, education and welfare economics. Most records since 1987 include an abstract. EconLit uses the Journal of Economic Literature Classification system as Subject Descriptors.
Abbreviation: econlit
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886–Current
Subjects: Economics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs