Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Florida State University Libraries Federal Data Guide. Use the tabs across the top of the page to find statistical data from various federal agencies. This guide is not comprehensive. You might find additional data links in other research guides, usually under headings for data or statistics.
Key Library Databases
CQ Press on Sage Knowledge
This database combines many of CQ's most well- known government and political titles into a single searchable database. It includes such titles as the Political Handbook of the world, Elections A to Z, the Federal Regulatory Directory and the Washington Information Directory and covers such topics as International Affairs, Congress, Law and the Courts, Elections and Political Behavior, the Presidency and Politics and History.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Print version in STROZIER Documents -- C3.134/2: H62 1789-1970
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction since 1962.
iPOLL Databank (Roper Center)
iPOLL Databank (Roper Center) from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, is a full text database of 500,000 questions from national public opinion surveys since 1935 and updated daily. iPOLL includes survey results data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal and many more. Many data sets are available for download in ASCII or SPSS format.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts more than 160,000 criminal justice publications including: federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, unpublished research. Includes a full text subset of more than 1,500 publications on this site and from NCJRS partner agency web sites.
NBER Working Papers
NBER Working Papers is the full text collection of U.S. National Bureau of Economic Research working papers written by its researchers on a range of economics topics.
Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data . Can create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed.
Statistical Abstract of the US
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Key Sites for Government Data
"provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic."
U.S. and International Data
Internet Crossroads in Social Science Data
"Search the Internet Crossroads for online resources related to social science data! DISC's Internet Crossroads contains over 1000 annotated links to data-related resources on the Internet."
Major U.S. Government Statistical Agencies
Jean and Alexander Heard Library, Vanderbilt University
Policy Agendas Project
"The Policy Agendas Project collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War."
Pew Research Center The Databank
"The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research."
Statistical Programs of the United States Government 2014
Annual report submitted by OMB to the President. Earlier reports in STROZIER, Documents General Collection Ground Floor -- PrEx2.10/3:
STATS America is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business. It includes a set of tools to access federal agencies' datasets and reports.