Foundation Fund Resources

Funded in part by 2020 Giving Tuesday contributions
This collection searches a unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865. The content includes letters, speeches, editorials, articles, sermons, and essays from libraries and archives in England, Scotland, Ireland, Canada, and the United States. Over 15,000 items written by nearly 300 Black men and women are available for searching.

Funded in part by 2020 Noles Read Day contributions and Family of James E. Bowden Book Fund
Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.

Funded by College of Education Foundation
Psychotherapy.net offers video streaming titles in the field of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. FSU provides access to a limited number of titles covering psychotherapy theory, motivational interviewing, and treatment.

Funded in part by 2021 Great Give contributions
Explore three pivotal decades in the struggle for civil rights in America. Comprising surveys and papers from The Amistad Research Center, this collection offers a wealth of primary source material on the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination, and racial theory in America.

Funded in part by 2021 Giving Tuesday contributions and Bradley Grant Funds
More than half of America’s states began as territories. From the 1760s to the 1950s the United States of America expanded southward and westward, acquiring territories that spanned from Florida to California to Alaska. Before they evolved into twenty-seven American states, these territories were managed by the U.S. State and Interior departments. The official history of their formative territorial years is recorded in the “Territorial Papers of the United States”—a collection of Native American negotiations and treaties, official correspondence with the federal government, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more. For the first time, the Territorial Papers are available in a digital online collection, offering unparalleled research opportunities for anyone interested in the creation of modern-day America.

Funded by 2018-19 FSU Student Government Association (SGA)
The BroadwayHD collection allows users to watch and learn from writers, directors, and actors recognized by the Tony Awards and the Pulitzer Prize. Ideal for theatre, drama, music, and even literature studies, this anywhere-anytime collection includes recordings of premium performances of plays and musicals from the New York theatre scene.