Research Guides: Florida State University &amp; Our Relationship with the Seminole Tribe of Florida: FSU Heritage &amp; University Archives

University Archives

One of the best places to explore the history of FSU and its relationship with the Seminole Tribe of Florida is in the historical records of the university. The Heritage and University Archives, part of Special Collections at FSU Libraries, preserve these records and make them available to researchers.

The Seminoles are represented in many facets of university history, including photographs, yearbooks, publications, memorabilia, and various administrative records. The following list includes collections that are known to include files on the Seminoles. There may be additional mentions of the Seminoles in other documents, waiting to be uncovered by researchers like you!

FSU-Seminole Relations

Seminole Tribe of Florida Resolution No. C-210-05, Hollywood, Fla., June 17, 2005.
Copy in FSU Heritage & University Archives, FSU Seminole Symbol Files.
Seminole Symbol Files
This collection is comprised primarily of newspaper clippings and correspondence, and documents the controversy from 1991 through 2005 over FSU's use of Native American names and symbols representing Renegade and Osceola, the Seminoles, and their use in athletic merchandise.
Office of the Vice President for University Relations
For many years, all relations with the Seminole Tribe of Florida went through the University Relations department.
This collection is unprocessed, which means it has not been completely inventoried and there may be limitations on its use.

Seminole and other Native American Imagery at FSU

In addition to the historical materials below, see FSU's current licensing guidelines for the use of Seminole symbols and patterns.

Trademark & Licensing Materials
Documents related to trademark licensing, including correspondence from student organizations, film production companies, and the Seminole Tribe of Florida
FSU Sports Media Guides
This collection contains FSU sports media guides for FSU's football, basketball, baseball, tennis, track and field, golf, volleyball, diving, swimming, softball, and soccer teams.

The historical use of Native American imagery at FSU is also evident in publications from FSU's history, including the student newspaper, yearbooks, and ephemera from FSU events.

Florida Flambeau
The FSU student newspaper from 1915-1996.
Florida State University Yearbooks
Yearbooks under several different names have been published at FSU and its predecessor institutions since 1901. Publishing was somewhat inconsistent in the late 20th century, and ceased in 2008.
FSU Vertical Files
This collection documents the activities and histories of various organizations, colleges, departments, and notable individuals at FSU. The collection contains original records, correspondence, press releases, schedules and calendars, newspaper clippings, brochures and pamphlets, programs, and flyers.
more...less...
Subject files such as Football and Homecoming are likely to have many images that shed light on how Native American imagery has been used at FSU over the past decades.
The "Squaw Law"
This 1966 booklet is an example of offensive Native American imagery and discriminatory rules for women students at FSU.

Special Collections

FSU Libraries also preserves the papers of FSU scholars, including those of historian James A. Leitch, who studied the Seminoles and other Indigenous peoples of the Southeastern United States.

Dr. James A. Leitch Wright, Jr. Papers
The papers of Dr. James A. Leitch Wright, Jr., noted historian who taught at Florida State University from 1968 to 1986. Wright received acclaim for his Colonial American research. His papers include correspondence, research materials, and manuscripts for his publications related to Southern Indian tribes.
Books by James A. Leitch Wright
Find the published works of Dr. Leitch at FSU Libraries.

Finally, FSU Libraries also preserves some historical documents that are related to the Seminoles and other Native communities of the region, but either predate or are unrelated to the university itself. The relationship here is that FSU preserves and makes available these historical records. The following are listed in chronological order.

19th Century

Bartholomew Lynch Journal
Journal in manuscript kept by US Army Private Bartholomew M. Lynch, commanded by Lieutenant John Graham during the Florida War. Early entries document his training and travel from New York to Florida on board the "Southern liner called America." Includes an eyewitness description of the captive Seminole leader Osceola, dated May 2, 1837.
Fort Gilliland - The Territory of Florida
Photocopy of receipt from Fort Gilliland, Newnansville, Alachua County, Florida, April 1, 1838 to a Dr. Isaac Garrarone. The receipt is in reference to the hiring of a wagon team and driver to transport goods between forts for the 1st Battalion, 6th Regiment in operation against the Seminole Indians from April 1 to September 1, 1838.
Seminole War Record
Photocopy of Seminole war record issued at Quartermaster's store, Fort No. 6, East Florida. It is an invoice of Quarter Master stores turned over to Lieut. M. R. Patrick. It is signed by E. R. S. Canby, 2nd Lt. 2nd Infry, A.A.Q.M., Fort No. 6 East Florida, May 15, 1840.
Captain John Rogers Vinton Seminole War letter
This item is a letter from Captain John Rogers Vinton at Fort New Smyrna, Florida and dated 1840. Addressed to his mother, it was written on his birthday.
Treaty Between the United States of America and the Seminole Nation of Indians
Treaty between the United States of America and the Seminole Nation of Indians. Concluded March 21, 1866. Ratification advised August 16, 1866. Proclaimed by Andrew Johnson, President of the United States of America, Washington, in the District of Columbia, March 21, 1866.

20th Century

Seminole Indians Miccosukee Tribe Collection
Photocopies of letters and briefs regarding the Seminole Indians in Florida and specifically the Everglades Miccosukee Tribe. Correspondents include Grady L. Crawford, Virgil H. Harington, Richard W. Ervin, LeRoy Collins and Max Denton. Also included in the collection is a "Proposed Charter of the Seminole Indians of Florida," and a brief entitled, "The Miccosukee Nation Identity and Rights," written by the Counsel for the Everglades Miccosukee Tribes of Seminole Indians.