One of the challenges with doing research on geography of music (or geography in music, or ecomusicology) is how cross-disciplinary and interdisciplinary the sources are. The lists of subjects, terms, journals, and suggested databases is selective and far from comprehensive. The most logical recommendation is that once you've found an article or a book that addresses your topic (or one aspect of your topic), examine any assigned subject terminology and use that terminology in another search to find more on that topic.
Frequently-used subjects:
Suggested music databases:
These multidisciplinary resources offer citations and often full-text for journal articles, books, and dissertations. They're wonderful for searching topics that cross traditional disciplinary boundaries, but one can also get lost in either a wealth of citations (that may or may not be relevant) or frustrated because there's nothing for that particular search. With multidisciplinary resources, one often needs to try broader search terms and then narrow or filter the search results.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993).
Sage Journals replaces Criminology Full-Text Collection by Sage, Political Science Full-Text Collection by Sage, Psychology Full-Text Collection by Sage, Sociology Full-Text Collection by Sage and offers a gateway to search by discipline: Health Sciences; Social Sciences & Humanities; Materials Sciences & Engineering; and Life & Biomedical Sciences. Users may also browse all Sage journals.
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706