Figure 1. Ken Richards, Bellamy Building, ca. 1970, photograph, 8x10 in. Special Collections and Archives, Robert Manning Strozier Library, Tallahassee, FL.
There are many primary source materials that may be useful for doing original research on a building or landscape. Sites that already have a historic designation or have been researched for potential inclusion on such lists may be found on national and state level registries.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers.
From leading issues and events, like the U.S. Civil War, immigration, westward expansion, industrial developments, race relations, and World War I and II; to international, local and regional politics, society, arts, culture, business, and sports, ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ reveals the day-to-day news coverage to researchers and historical explorers, providing invaluable insights and information to users from a wide range of subjects. Historical coverage of 17 Southern newspapers, including the Tallahassee Democrat, is available.
Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogy collection providing access to censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more.
Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals. Provides multidisciplinary indexing of all fields of arts and humanities, including dance, film, radio and television, language, music and literature.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Artstor, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources. Users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford's acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies.
Explore domestic life, leisure and material culture of nineteenth- and twentieth-century America.
Decoding Theoryspeak
by
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706
