Research Guides: Homelessness: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Florida State University Libraries Homelessness guide. Use the tabs at the top to find sources and information to help you research your social work topics. You might also find the related libguides links helpful. Please contact me if you need assistance or more information.

FSU College of Social Work

Databases

CQ Researcher
Description: Provides in-depth reports on current events and topics of current interest. Each report provides historical background on the topic, outside commentary, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a substantial bibliography. CQ Researcher addresses a wide range of topics including legal, political, and social issues, communication and mass media, health, education, science, and technology. Coverage is from 1923 to the present.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations. In Library Access only for some collections but the following is available to the public: CRS reports; Congressional Budget Office (CBO) reports; Congressional hearings, reports, documents, resolutions and public laws; GAO reports, Inspector General reports, Presidential directives, etc.
PAIS
Materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
PsycINFO
Description: Online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some links to full text.
Sage: Sociology Full-Text Collection
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection includes the full-text of 33 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 24 years, encompassing over 12,700 articles. It covers such subjects as Childhood, Contemporary Sociology, Comparative Sociology, Consumer Culture, Classical Sociology, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory, Sociology of Sport, and Sociology of Work and Employment (Labor Studies).
Social Sciences Full-text
Covers some 350 core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations from 1983-Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development from 1980-
Sociological Abstracts
Sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women's studies. From 1963-
Springer LINK
(1996 - present)
An electronic journal service with over 410 full text electronic journals published by Springer. The journals are searchable and browsable by author, title, topic or individual issue. Coverage is 1996 - present. Varies by title.
Statistical Abstract of the US
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
An excellent tool on social science research methods includes over 1000 methods books, 1100 case studies, reference works, journal articles, and instructional video tutorials by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. In addition, the full-text titles from the Sage’s Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series(“The Little Green Books”) and Qualitative Research Methods Series ("The Little Blue Books”) books are available.
Abbreviation: srmo
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Communication, Rhetoric & Composition, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Research Starter, Streaming Video

Subject Headings

Below is a list of possible subject headings you can use to search the catalog for books and journals about Homelessness. To browse by subject heading, click on Advanced search, go to Option 3, then select Subject from the Browse Organized Lists drop-down menu, type the subject heading in the search box, then click the Go box. Note: This is not a complete list.

Homelessness

Homelessness--Florida

Homelessness--United States

Homeless persons

Homeless persons--mental health

Homeless persons--services for

Homeless children

Homeless families

Homeless persons--government policy--United States

Homeless persons--medical care--United States

Homeless veterans--Housing--United States

Homelessness

Contact Me

Lindsey Wharton

Extended Campus &
Distance Services Librarian

lwharton@fsu.edu

Hunger & Homelessness Awareness

Welcome

Databases

Subject Headings

Homelessness

Lindsey Wharton

Extended Campus & Distance Services Librarian

lwharton@fsu.edu

Welcome

Databases

Subject Headings

Extended Campus &
Distance Services Librarian