Research Guides: Journalism: Home

Home

Related Research Guides

*Communication & Media Studies: The Portal
by Kyung Kim Last Updated Sep 11, 2024 804 views this year

Communication Librarian

Kyung Kim

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Department of Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities at Strozier Library

Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Hospitality, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning

Top 10 U.S. Daily Newspapers

Image credit

Top 10 U.S. Daily Newspapers
The most circulating newspapers sourced from Alliance for Audited Media (2019)

News Databases & Aggregators

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window Find current and archived state, national, and international full-text articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,500 newspapers and other news sources including the Miami Herald (5/19/82–Current), Orlando Sentinel (4/1/85–Current), and USA Today (7/1/87–Current). Also includes: Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires & Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias.
Log into NewsBank and create an account to save your search history, save articles, save searches, and create Email alerts.

To Create an Alert
- Enter a search that you're interested in.
- On the results page click on Set up an Alert.
- Choose to create the alert as a registered user or without registering.
- Specify the frequency by which you'd like to receive your alerts.
- If there are new results, NewsBank will send them to you in an email.
Please note that FSU does not having a data-mining subscription with Newsbank. Downloading entire series or papers is prohibited.

Abbreviation: awn
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1903-Current
Subjects: Communication, Hospitality
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Ethnic NewsWatch™ includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses.
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Native Peoples
Abbreviation: ethnicnews2
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Asian Studies, Communication, History, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections, Newspapers and Newswires
Factiva (20 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window Factiva.com, from Dow Jones, includes access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
There is a 20 concurrent user limit.

Abbreviation: djfac
Vendor: Dow Jones & Company
Subjects: Business, Communication, Finance
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
NewsBank This link opens in a new window NewsBank is a Web-based collection of primary source information from regional, national and international newspapers, newswires, government and international documents, regional business journals, and periodicals.Please note that FSU does not having a data-mining subscription with NewsBank. Downloading entire series or papers is prohibited.
This database includes:
NPR Transcripts from 1990-Current
Broadcast Transcripts from Nightly News local and national
World & US Newswires
Current full text of major metro newspaper articles

Log into NewsBank and create an account to save your search history, save articles, save searches, and create Email alerts.

To Create an Alert:

Enter a search that you're interested in.
On the results page click on Set up an Alert.
Choose to create the alert as a registered user or without registering.
Specify the frequency by which you'd like to receive your alerts.
If there are new results, NewsBank will send them to you in an email.

Abbreviation: infoweb
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1789-Current
Type: Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni offers a simple, intuitive research experience with flexible search options and tools to help guide students through common research tasks. Nexis Uni offers the same trusted content collection of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources that students and librarians alike have come to expect from LexisNexis, while also providing a better research experience.
Content:
Briefs, Pleadings and Motions
Cases
Company and Financial
Directories
Law Reviews and Journals
Legal News
News
Statutes and Legislation

Abbreviation: nexis
Vendor: LexisNexis
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Hospitality, Law, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Sociology
Type: Directories, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Proceedings
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Abbreviation: dailies
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980-Current
Subjects: Communication
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window This database combines many of CQ's most well-known government and political titles into a single searchable database. It includes such titles as the Political Handbook of the world, Elections A to Z, the Federal Regulatory Directory and the Washington Information Directory and covers such topics as International Affairs, Congress, Law and the Courts, Elections and Political Behavior, the Presidency and Politics and History.
Tutorials:
Overview (04:03)

Abbreviation: cq
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Coverage: 1923-Current
Subjects: Communication, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health
Type: Directories, Government Publications, Reports

For a complete guide to newspaper resources, go to Newspapers Guide from FSU Libraries.

Google News

New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window Offers full-page-images and article images from the New York Times newspaper from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand primary source accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Abbreviation: nythist
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1850-Current - 3 years
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
New York Times (The) This link opens in a new window The New York Times is considered the "official" U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
See: New York Times 1980-Present Full Text (no images)
See also: New York Times 1923-2017 Full Text PDF
See also: New York Times 1851-2017 Full Text PDF

Abbreviation: nyt
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980-Current
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Wall Street Journal (Historical) This link opens in a new window The United States financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news. Updates vary, current coverage 1889–1999.
Abbreviation: wsjh
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1889-1999
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It is an indispensable source for business professionals, providing business and financial news coverage, personal and company profiles, feature reporting, special reports, and regular columns.
Also see: ProQuest (for today's edition back to Jan 8, 2010) Wall Street Journal Online
Also see: Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition

Abbreviation: wsj
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1984-Current
Type: Citation Management, Newspapers and Newswires
Washington Post This link opens in a new window The Washington Post is well known for not only in-depth news and analysis of American politics but also insightful coverage of national and international trends and events.
Abbreviation: wp
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1987-Current
Type: Newspapers and Newswires

For a complete guide to newspaper resources, go to Newspapers Guide from FSU Libraries.

African American Newspapers, 1827–1998 This link opens in a new window Provides online access to 280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
Abbreviation: afamnp
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1827-1998
Subjects: African-American Studies, Communication, History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. Southeast Collection This link opens in a new window From leading issues and events, like the U.S. Civil War, immigration, westward expansion, industrial developments, race relations, and World War I and II; to international, local and regional politics, society, arts, culture, business, and sports, ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ reveals the day-to-day news coverage to researchers and historical explorers, providing invaluable insights and information to users from a wide range of subjects. Historical coverage of 17 Southern newspapers, including the Tallahassee Democrat.
Titles:
Asheville Citizen-Times (Asheville, NC)-1873-2009
The Daily News Leader (Staunton, VA)-1912-2011
The Daily News-Journal (Murfreesboro, TN)-TBD
Daily Press (Newport News, VA)-1898-2001
The Daily Times (Salisbury, MD)-1913-2011
Florida Today (Brevard County, FL)-1969-2006
The Jackson Sun (Jackson, TN)-TBD
The Leaf-Chronicle (Clarksville, TN)-TBD
Miami News (Miami, FL)-1904-1988
The News-Press (Fort Meyers, FL)-1911-2010
Orlando Sentinel (Orlando, FL)-1892-2001
Palm Beach Daily News (Palm Beach, FL)-1976-2011
Palm Beach Post (Palm Beach, FL)-1916-2004
Pensacola News Journal (Pensacola, FL)-1956-2011
South Florida Sun-Sentinel (Fort Lauderdale, FL)-1925-2000
Tallahassee Democrat (Tallahassee, FL)-1913-2008
The Tampa Tribune (Tampa, FL)-1895-2016

Abbreviation: usshist
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Communication, History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires

For a complete guide to newspaper resources, go to Newspapers Guide from FSU Libraries.

Journals, Trade Publications & Newsletters

Use Journal Search on the library homepage to access the journals.

AEJMC News
African Journalism Studies
AIM Report
American Journalism
American Journalism Review
College Media Review
Columbia Journalism Review
Communication: Journalism Education Today
Critical Studies in Media Communication
Digital Journalism
Editor and Publisher
Electronic News
FOIA Update
Folio
Gateway Journalism Review
Global Journalist
Index on Censorship
The International Communication Gazette
The International Journal of Press/Politics
IRE Journal

Use Journal Search on the library homepage to access the journals.

Journalism
Journalism and Communication Educator
Journalism and Communication Monographs
Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly
Journalism History
Journalism Studies
Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media
Journal of Media Ethics
Literary Journalism Studies
Media Culture and Society
Mother Jones
New Media & Society
Newspaper Research Journal
Nieman Reports
Online Journalism Review
Print
Publisher's Auxiliary
SND Update

Useful Tools for Journalism Practice

[General Resources]

[Style Book]

Associated Press (AP) Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law
- 55th ed. (2020) on order.
- 53rd ed. (2018) available

[Data Finding & Fact-Checking Aids]

Media Watchdogs/Advocacy

Accuracy in Media
Center for Public Integrity
Committee to Protect Journalists
Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting (FAIR)
Media Matters for America
Media Research Center
PRWatch (From the Center for Media and Democracy)
Reveal

Journalism Information Literacy Framework

Journalism Information Literacy Framework
Framework for Information Literacy in Journalism for Higher Education, written by Communication Studies Committee of the ACRL (Association of College & Research Libraries)

Open Textbooks

Be Credible
by Bobkowski & Younger from Univ. of Kansas (2018)
Verification Handbook: For Disinformation and Media Manipulation
from the European Journalism Centre (2020)
The Data Journalism Handbook 2: Towards a Critical Data Practice
from the European Journalism Centre & Google News Initiative
Journalism 2.0: How to Survive and Thrive
by Briggs (2007)
Story-based Inquiry: A Manual for Investigative Journalists
by Hunter (2011) from UNESCO

Professional Associations & Organizations

Research Centers and Associations

American Press Institute
Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
Center for Media and Public Affairs (from George Mason University)
International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON)
Pew Research Center for Journalism & Media
Poynter Institute
Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy (from Harvard Kenndy School)
Tow Center for Digital Journalism (from Columbia University)