Research Guides: Media Ratings, Data & Statistics : Home

Home

Communication Librarian

Kyung Kim

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Department of Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities at Strozier Library

Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Hospitality, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning

Suggested Subject Keywords

Cable Television
Mass Media--Audiences
Mass Media--Ratings and Rankings
Motion Picture Audiences (Research)
Motion Pictures--Evaluations
Motion Pictures--Rating
Radio Audiences
Radio Audiences (Research)
Radio Programs (Rating)
Television--Statistics
Television Broadcasting
Television Programs--Rating
Television Viewers

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window Documents in ABI/INFORM Collection (the most comprehensive version of ABI/INFORM) number over 40 million. Over 90% of the articles can be found right in the database. For the remaining 10%, summaries and links to other resources are provided. Publications are precisely indexed and various search aids and tools are provided in the ProQuest platform to help users find information. Tools for citation generation, emailing and printing articles of interest are also provided on the platform.
Subjects include:
Business
Economic conditions
Corporate strategies
Management theory
Management techniques
Business trends
Competitive landscape and product information
Accounting
Finance

Tutorials:
Introduction to ABI/INFORM Collection (PowerPoint)
Overview of ABI Market Research Sources (PowerPoint)
Tip for Teaching: ABI/INFORM Collection Uncovering SWOT Analyses (03:51 minutes)

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry- Features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM Dateline- Browse Search not included
ABI/INFORM Global- features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete

Abbreviation: abi-com
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full-text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886–Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports
MRI Simmons Catalyst (20 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window MRI Simmons Catalyst is a consumer intelligence and discovery platform that provides information on consumer behaviors, brand consumer messaging, cross-channel marketing, and media planning tactics.
Tutorials:
Introducing Simmons Insights (4:52)

Abbreviation: insi
Vendor: MRI Simmons
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics

Industry Websites and Associations

Audience Measurement Sources

MRI Simmons Catalyst (20 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window MRI Simmons Catalyst is a consumer intelligence and discovery platform that provides information on consumer behaviors, brand consumer messaging, cross-channel marketing, and media planning tactics.
Tutorials:
Introducing Simmons Insights (4:52)

Abbreviation: insi
Vendor: MRI Simmons
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics

Data and Ranking Sources

DemographicsNow (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window Demographics Now has been developed by SRC, LLC to bring you the data you need to make sound business decisions. With DemographicsNow you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S. Ceases publication on March 28, 2025.
Abbreviation: demnow
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Geography, Hospitality, Public Health
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Maps

A limited set of Simmons reports available at DemographicsNow database.

Video tutorials: Analyzing Market Size and Demographics | Assessing Market Risk | Choosing a Business Location |Finding Your Competition | Mapping

Media Ratings, Data & Statistics

Communication Librarian

Suggested Subject Keywords

Databases

Industry Websites and Associations

Audience Measurement Sources

Data and Ranking Sources

Journals & Trade Magazines