Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Speaking

Suggested Keywords for Browsing Books

Using Subject Headings to find materials on public speaking at OneSearch

Use Advanced Search at FSU's OneSearch, and enter
one of these Subject Headings to browse books or explore articles on public speaking. 

 

 

Journals & Trade Publications

1. Use the Journal Search at OneSearch 



2. Select one of the databases to access the full text of the journal


Research Tip:

 

How to Find Speeches

Use the Advanced Search at OneSearch and limit your search by the subject heading "Speeches, Address, etc".
Then, add a topic to the search.
E.g., To find speeches on civil rights where the transcripts were available in books:

   

  • Academic Search Complete database 
    1. Go to Advanced Search mode  
    2. Enter a search term such as a topic or the speaker
    3. At the Search Options box -> Limit your results -> Document Type, & select Speech
    4. Search 
    This database indexes the following journals/magazines. 
         * Vital Speeches of the Day (01/85 – present)
         * Executive Speeches (06/95 – 10/2005)
         * Vital Speeches International (05/2009 to present)
         * Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1995 – 2009)
         * Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents (2009 – present)
               Tip: Sort the results by "Date Newest" to access the latest speeches by the current president of the U.S.   
     
  • ABI/Inform Collection Database
    1. Go to Advanced Search mode
    2. Enter a search term such as a person's name or a topic
    3. Check the Speech/Lecture box at the Document Type box   
    This database indexes the following journals/magazines. 
         * Executive Speeches  10/ 1987 – Oct/Nov 2005 
         * Vital Speeches of the Day (06/01/95 to present)   
     
  • Business Source Complete database 
    1. Go to Advanced Search mode
    2. Enter a search term
    3. At the Limit Your Results section, check [Speech] box under Document Type. 
       * Vital Speeches of the Day 10/08/1934 To Present  
     
  • Great Speeches Video Series (in Alexander Street Theatre) 
    Includes history's most influential speeches. Each is accompanied by a biography and analysis of the event and the speech.
    1. To access the video series, go to the Search feature on the upper right corner of the main page,
    2. Enter "Great Speeches Video Series" in the search box 
    Transcripts are available. Use the "Search Transcripts" feature to find where your term appears on the transcript.  
     
  • Congressional Publications (ProQuest) 
    At the Advanced Search, select Hearings (1824 - present) on the left pane for published, temporary, and unpublished hearings, including written and oral statements of witnesses, transcripts, reports, exhibits, correspondence, and other materials. 


     
  • The "Vital Speeches of the Day" magazine is a good place to start. The magazine has published transcripts of important speeches since 1935. Use Business Search Complete database to access the full text of the magazine.  
    1. Click on [Publications] on the top of the page
    2. Enter the journal title "Vital Speeches of the Day" to the search box and click on [Browse] button.
    3. Click on "Vital Speeches Of The Day" link

    4. Browse the issues and articles by clicking the years on the right side. Or, click on "Search within this publication" link to add a search term to the query. 

To cite speech transcripts in APA 7 Style, check out:

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706