Research Guides: Scientific Computing: Finding Articles

Useful Electronic Resources

These are a selection of databases available online through FSU but there are many more databases for the wide variety of specializations in scientific computing. Many of them are accessible through the general "@FSU-Computer Science Databases" link. Please contact the liaison for Scientific Computing if you have questions or would like assistance locating an item.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to all ACM journals, magazines, and Special Interest Group conference proceedings. A wide range of computer- and information-science topics are covered from 1947 to the present. The ACM Digital Library is published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
Abbreviation: acm
Vendor: Association for Computing Machinery
Coverage: 1947–Current
Subjects: Communication, Computer Science, Engineering, Library & Information Science
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current and draft IEEE standards.
Topic areas:
Aerospace
Bioengineering
Communication, Networking & Broadcasting
Components, Circuits, Devices & Systems
Computing & Processing (Hardware/Software)
Engineered Materials, Dielectrics & Plasmas
Engineering Profession
Fields, Waves & Electromagnetics
General Topics for Engineers (Math, Science & Engineering)
Geoscience
Nuclear Engineering
Photonics & Electro-Optics
Power, Energy, & Industry Applications
Robotics & Control Systems
Signal Processing & Analysis
Transportation

Abbreviation: ieee
Vendor: IEEE
Coverage: 1988–Current
Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering, Material Science
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Proceedings, Standards, Testing / Tutorials
Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines.
Abbreviation: scie
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Coverage: 1900–Current
Subjects: *General Science
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Computer and Information Systems Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Computer and Information Systems Abstracts is part of Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Index. Topics covered include aeronautics, astronautics, communications, computer and information technology, electronics, lasers, solid-state materials and devices, space sciences, and telecommunications. By default, your search will be limited to Computer and Information Systems Abstracts content only. Deselect the checkbox to expand your search and get more results.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: compinfoabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1981–Current
Subjects: Computer Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs, Proceedings, Reports
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature. Over 1700 current serials and journals reviewed in whole or in part may be viewed in PDF format.
Abbreviation: mathscinet
Vendor: AMS American Mathematical Society
Coverage: 1900–Current
Subjects: Mathematics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

STEM Research and Data Librarian

Nicholas Ruhs

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Paul A.M. Dirac Library
110 N. Woodward Avenue #202A
Tallahassee, FL 32306

850-645-9597

Subjects: Chemistry, Computer Science, Data Analytics and Information Systems, Scientific Computing, Statistics