Critical Issues & Articles - SPM 5907 - Professional Development in Sport - Research Guides at The Florida State University

Articles

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text articles for sports & sports medicine journals, SPORTDiscus also has many magazines and journals covering niche sports and markets, such as Backpacker, Cross Country Skier, Equus, Dirt Biker, etc..
Abbreviation: sport
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1985–Current
Subjects: Hospitality, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Sport Management
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. The curious traveler will also find a wealth of information, from contents on state parks and information on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's.
Activities, facilities, theory, research, policy, and planning in the fields of leisure, recreation, sport, culture, and tourism.

Abbreviation: htlc
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Business, Hospitality, Sport Management
Type: E-Journal Collections
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from regional, national and international business and trade journals.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886–Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Subjects include:
Business
Economic conditions
Corporate strategies
Management theory
Management techniques
Business trends
Competitive landscape and product information
Accounting
Finance

Tutorials:
Introduction to ABI/INFORM Collection (PowerPoint)
Overview of ABI Market Research Sources (PowerPoint)
Tip for Teaching: ABI/INFORM Collection Uncovering SWOT Analyses (03:51 minutes)

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry- Features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM Dateline- Browse Search not included
ABI/INFORM Global- features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete

Abbreviation: abi-com
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycNet This link opens in a new window
APA delivers all of its databases on APA PsycNet. Based on years of user research and usability testing, APA PsycNet is designed specifically for APA databases, with all searchable fields mapped to APA products.
Tutorials:
Getting Started

Abbreviation: apapsy
Vendor: American Psychological Association
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Psychology, Public Health
Type: E-Book Collections, Indexes / Catalogs, Testing / Tutorials
Dissertations & Theses (Global) (PQDT, ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Also see: Theses and Dissertations at The Florida State University

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital form full-text.
You have access to:
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Business
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Health & Medicine
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: History
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Literature & Language
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Science & Technology
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Social Sciences
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: The Arts

Abbreviation: dissertations
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1637–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Dissertations / Theses
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline provides a searchable format and full-image access to a large and growing collection of legal journals from the time of their inception to a few years before present.
Tutorials:
Training Videos
Training Guides
User Guide (pdf)

Abbreviation: hein
Vendor: HeinOnline
Subjects: Business Legal Studies, History, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Law, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources

Newspapers

New York Times (The) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is considered the "official" U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
See: New York Times 1980-Present Full Text (no images)
See also: New York Times 1923-2017 Full Text PDF
See also: New York Times 1851-2017 Full Text PDF

Abbreviation: nyt
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980–Current
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It is an indispensable source for business professionals, providing business and financial news coverage, personal and company profiles, feature reporting, special reports, and regular columns.
Also see: ProQuest (for today's edition back to Jan 8, 2010) Wall Street Journal Online
Also see: Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition

Abbreviation: wsj
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1984–Current
Type: Citation Management, Newspapers and Newswires
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post is well known for not only in-depth news and analysis of American politics but also insightful coverage of national and international trends and events.
Abbreviation: wp
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1987–Current
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
Tallahassee Democrat This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Abbreviation: talldemo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1999–Current
Subjects: Newspapers
Type: Citation Management, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Find current and archived state, national, and international full-text articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,500 newspapers and other news sources including the Miami Herald (5/19/82–Current), Orlando Sentinel (4/1/85–Current), and USA Today (7/1/87–Current). Also includes: Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires & Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias.
Log into NewsBank and create an account to save your search history, save articles, save searches, and create Email alerts.

To Create an Alert
- Enter a search that you're interested in.
- On the results page click on Set up an Alert.
- Choose to create the alert as a registered user or without registering.
- Specify the frequency by which you'd like to receive your alerts.
- If there are new results, NewsBank will send them to you in an email.
Please note that FSU does not having a data-mining subscription with Newsbank. Downloading entire series or papers is prohibited.

Abbreviation: awn
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1903–Current
Subjects: Communication, Hospitality
Type: Newspapers and Newswires