Research Guides: Sport Management: Home

Welcome

Sport Management is designed to provide students with an introductory understanding of the sport industry.

This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students studying Sport Management. It focuses on general reference books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries. It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers locate additional materials.

FSU Websites

FSU College of Education

FSU College of Education: Department of Sport Management

Key Databases

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Provides full text for more than 415 sports and sports medicine journals.

SMA: Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
SBRNet: Sports Business Research database focuses on market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry…sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
Single sport/product search include:
Archery
Backpacking
Badminton
Baseball
Basketball
Bicycling
Billiards
Bowling
Cheerleading
Camping/Hiking Climbing
Equestrian
Exercise/Fitness
Eyewear
Fishing
Footwear
Football
Golf
Gymnastics
Hunting/Shooting
Ice Hockey
Inline Skating
Lacrosse
Martial Arts
Motorsports
Paintball
Rugby
Running/Jogging
Scooter Riding
Skateboarding
Skiing
Snowboarding
Soccer
Softball
Tennis
Volleyball
Water Sports (All)
Winter Sports (All)
Women's Total Market
Wrestling

Abbreviation: sbrnet
Vendor: SBRnet
Subjects: Business, Communication, Marketing, Sport Management, Sport Psychology, Statistics
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Journal Collections, Government Publications
APA PsycNet This link opens in a new window
APA delivers all of its databases on APA PsycNet. Based on years of user research and usability testing, APA PsycNet is designed specifically for APA databases, with all searchable fields mapped to APA products.
Tutorials:
Getting Started

Abbreviation: apapsy
Vendor: American Psychological Association
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Psychology, Public Health
Type: E-Book Collections, Indexes / Catalogs, Testing / Tutorials
ERIC (OCLC WorldCat Discovery) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (FirstSearch) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Abbreviation: ericfs
Vendor: OCLC
Coverage: 1966–Current
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. There is full text for more than 200 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Abbreviation: hosptour
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1965–Current
Subjects: Business, Hospitality, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. The curious traveler will also find a wealth of information, from contents on state parks and information on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's.
Activities, facilities, theory, research, policy, and planning in the fields of leisure, recreation, sport, culture, and tourism.

Abbreviation: htlc
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Business, Hospitality, Sport Management
Type: E-Journal Collections
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Artstor, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–Current
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations mostly since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Abbreviation: psycart
Vendor: American Psychological Association
Coverage: 1988–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Psychology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women's studies.
Subject coverage:
Culture and social structure
Family and marriage
History and theory of sociology
Organizational sociology
Political sociology
Poverty and homelessness
Race and ethnicity
Social change and economic development
Social control
Sociology of health and medicine
Sociology of education

Abbreviation: socabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1963–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, Human Development & Family Science, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Sports Business Journal This link opens in a new window
SBJ is a national, weekly magazine featuring award-winning original reporting, with in-depth profiles, timely research and expert opinions on the biggest issues and stories in sports business. FSU does not have access to SBJ Atlas and Newzoo.
Abbreviation: sbj
Vendor: Leaders Group
Subjects: Business, Communication, Sport Management, Statistics
Type: Newspapers and Newswires

Subject Guide

Trip Wyckoff

Email Me

Contact:

Room 0027k
Strozier Library
Basement

850-645-1475

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Data Analytics and Information Systems, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Sports & Recreation Management