Video Games, Comics, Novels, Televisions, Books, Non-Fiction
Tip: Search Google, Google News, or News Databases for the list of top films.
E.g. best feminist movies
top documentaries women's issues
Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields. Content includes more than 440 full-text journals, Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 670 journals, and 5,500 author profiles.
Film & Television Literature IndexThis link opens in a new windowFilm & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300).
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=fah
Subjects: Communication, Film Studies, Literature
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
GenderWatchThis link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
Encyclopedia of Women in Radio, 1920-1960 by Leora M. Sies; Luther F. SiesIn the early days of radio, there were employment opportunities for women as singers, musicians, actors, and hosts of women's interest shows, but few opportunities for them to do much more, not to mention host their own music or comedy programs. Vaughan deLeith, the Original Radio Girl, was one of the first women to break into radio and pave the way for others to follow. It is estimated than from 1920 to 1936, deLeith received three million pieces of fan mail, wrote more than 200 published songs, made more than 300 phonograph records and Edison cylinders, and sang 15,000 songs on the air. The women who worked in and on radio in its four greatest decades are given their due in this comprehensive work. Readers will find Bertha Brainard, Judith Waller, Jessica Dragonette, Kate Smith, the Boswell Sisters, the Andrews Sisters, the Carter Sisters, Wilma Lee Cooper, Kitty Wells, Gracie Allen, and Minnie Pearl, among many, many other women who were on the radio. Nine extended entries cover pioneers, Mary Garden and Chicago radio, singers, country musicians, comediennes, husband-and-wife talk shows, women in daytime serials (soap operas), family values, and gender discrimination facing wo
Call Number: PN1991.8.W65 E53 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Geek Heroines: An Encyclopedia of Female Heroes in Popular Culture by Karen M. WalshGeek Heroines not only tells the stories of fictional and real women, but also explores how they represent changes in societal views of women, including women of color and the LGBTQ community. Geek culture stems from science and technology and so is frequently associated with science fiction. In the beginnings of science fiction, the genre was tied to "magic" and dystopic outcomes; however, as technology turned "geek" into "chic," geek culture extended to include comics, video games, board games, movie, books, and television. Geek culture now revolves around fictional characters about whom people are passionate. Geek Heroines seeks to encourage women and young girls in pursuing their passions by providing them with female role models in the form of diverse heroines within geek culture. Carefully curated to incorporate LGBTQ+ identities as well as racial diversity, the book defines geek culture, explains geek culture's sometimes problematic nature, and provides detailed fiction and nonfiction biographies that highlight women in this area. Entries include writers and directors as well as characters from comic books, science fiction, speculative fiction, television, movies, and video games. * Provides readers with an intersectional approach to geek culture that incorporates a variety of female identities * Details the historical problems of women's representation in geek culture including hypersexualization, bi-erasure, and transgender issues * Focuses on how characters and real-life women empower female identifications * Analyzes the geek community's history of sexism focusing on how social norms lead to one-dimensional characterizations