Research Guides: *Dance: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the FSU Libraries' Dance Research Guide

Jazz Dance Theatre, 2012.

Catalog Tips and Tricks

These are my recommendations for your best bets in researching Dance topics. For additional links and resources please see the navigation bar on the left side of this research guide.

Dance in Video

Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by many influential performers and companies of the 20th century, available online in streaming video. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as pioneers of modern concert dance. This release includes 768 works, equaling 501 hours.

Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. It includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.
Abbreviation: ehs
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: African-American Studies, Classics, History, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy & Ethics, Religion, Rhetoric & Composition, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.
Abbreviation: ibtd
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Dance, Literature, Music, Theatre
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more; drawing from both current files and selected back files to 1864. 160 publications are included in full text.
Subject coverage:
Dance
Theater
Film
Mime
Opera
Puppetry
Radio
Television
Storytelling
Video
Performance Art

Abbreviation: iipa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1864-Current
Subjects: Dance, Literature, Music, Theatre
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Routledge Performance Archive This link opens in a new window
The Routledge Performance Archive is a developing resource produced in partnership with Digital Theatre, providing unique access to an unprecedented range of audio-visual material from past and present practitioners of performance. This ground-breaking and constantly growing online collection delivers essential resources direct to the classroom, lecture theatre and library.
Subjects include:
Acting & Actor Training
Comedy
Dance
Form & Genre
Performance Art / Live Art & Performance
Political Theatre & Performance
Popular Theatre & Performance
Theatre-Making & Processes

Abbreviation: rpa
Vendor: Taylor and Francis Group
Subjects: Dance, Music, Theatre
Type: Streaming Video

Use the Library of Congress Classification Outline to browse for books in your subject area. Here are some examples in the dance to get you started:

GV (1580-1799.4) --- Dancing
GV (1587) --- Dance Terminology, Abbreviations, Notation
GV (1588) --- Philosophy and Theory
GV (1589) --- Study and Teaching
GV (1597) --- Dancing as a Profession
GV (1600) --- Dance Criticism and Appreciation
GV (1645-1728) --- Dance History and Historical Dancing
GV (1743) --- National Dances; Folk Dancing
GV (1746-1771) --- Social Dancing; Ballroom Dancing
GV (1781-1795) --- Theatrical Dancing
M (1450) --- Dance Music
M (1520-1526) --- Ballet Dance Music
QM (1-511) --- General Human Anatomy
QP (1-345) --- General Physiology
RC (489.D3) --- Dance Therapy for Adults
RJ (505.D3) --- Dance Therapy for Children

The following are just a few subject headings that may be used when searching the catalog:

Art and Dance
Body Language
Choreography
Dance -- History
Dance -- Philosophy
Dance -- Religious Aspects
Dance -- Sociological Aspects
Dance -- Study and Teaching
Modern Dance
Performing Arts

http://beets1278.blogspot.com/2012/10/boolean-logic-is-not-logical.html

These FSU Research Guides may be of interest to your research; a full list of guides can be found here. Each guide will also include contact information for the subject librarian in that area of study: