Skip to main content
Sources and Reviews of Tests & Measurements
Educational Testing Service TestLink
"The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers."It contains tests from the early 1900s to the present, includes a variety of U.S. publishers and individual test authors and foreign tests.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Access only allows 4 simultaneous users. Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
PsycTESTS is a new and expanding APA database that provides access to noncommercial, unpublished psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments. Users can read the summary and purpose of a test, in addition to a history of its development. In many cases, the test instrument is included. When available, test scope, implementation, development, and validity and reliability data are provided.
*TMdb* Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences
A compilation of test and measure resources in the social sciences. Search the FSU catalog to see if we own a particular collection."The TMdb is an aid in locating known assessment instruments. Entries include only instrument title, author, date, & pages located in a larger compilation." . . . "Compiled by Helen Hough, Systems Librarian with Burt King (through 2013) at University of Texas at Arlington."
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
What APA says about finding tests...
Find out about using published and unpublished tests here.
Finding Copies of Tests
In the databases listed to the right, you will be able to locate reviews of assessment instruments or tests. In some databases, you can find copies of tests or information that will lead you to copies of the test.
- Using PsycINFO search the "Tests and Measurements, TM" field with the name of a test and then scroll down in the article to the "TM" field to show which test is mentioned in the article. Sometimes the bibliography in these articles will point out the book(s) the tests are in.
- In ERIC, search for "tests" in the "Publication Type" field to find items that include copies of tests or questionnaires.
- Dissertations Abstracts/Digital Dissertations database: Searching full text dissertations will often have copies of tests, most often located in the Appendix part of the dissertation.
- FSU Library Catalog: You can also search the Library's online catalog using the name of the test to see if we own a book that contains information or a copy of the test.
- Publishers hold the copyright to tests they distribute. You can contact the publisher to purchase tests or you can order and purchase tests online from the ETS Complete Test Directory.
- Test Review Program: Sometimes publishers will allow faculty a free, 30 day test review. We can help you contact the publisher to find out if they offer that program..
- For copies of unpublished tests, contact the author of the test.