Research Guides: Psychology: Journal Articles & Databases

Databases that contain articles

Search the databases below to find journal articles on Psychology topics. If you are not on campus, log in using your FSU ID and password.

To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the "Find it @ FSU" button in the database. Many journals are available online, but some are in the FSU Libraries print collection. Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you need help searching through the databases, click-on the search guides or tutorials on the bottom-left!

APA PsycInfo (ProQuest)

ProQuest’s online version of APA’s PsycInfo covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, with comprehensive indexing and abstracts from 1805 to present.

Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1805–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PubMed (NLM)
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.

Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Social Sciences Citation Index

A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

Abbreviation: sssi
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Coverage: 1956–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
ERIC (ProQuest)
ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).

Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Artstor, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.

Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–Current
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Search Guides

The links below provide you with instructions on how to search in popular ProQuest databases:

Tutorials

The links below provide you with tutorials on how to use popular databases:

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
The Interlibrary Loan service provides access to materials that are unavailable from FSU Libraries. For more information, visit Interlibrary Loan.

Vendor: OCLC

Streaming Video Resources

Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online includes scholarly video material, such as documentaries, interviews, field recordings, and more.

Tutorials:
Browsing Channels (3:20 minutes)
Clip Making (1:53 minutes)
Searching and Filtering (1:50 minutes)
Scrolling and Searchable Transcripts (1:13 minutes)

Abbreviation: asavon
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Type: Streaming Video
Films On Demand: Master Academic Collection
Films on Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to stream videos on various subjects, including educational psychology, biological psychology, and social psychology.

Abbreviation: fod
Vendor: Films Media Group
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Streaming Video
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JOVE)
JOVE journal is a powerful database full of videos on cutting-edge science and experimentation. JOVE includes videos on psychology-related subjects such as behavior and neuroscience.

Abbreviation: jov
Vendor: Journal of Visualized Experiments
Coverage: October 2006–Current
Subjects: Engineering, *General Science, Medicine, Nursing
Type: Streaming Audio, Streaming Video
Psychological Experiments Online
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collections that synthesizes psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, including high-profile experiments like the Stanford Prison and Asch Conformity, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike.

Abbreviation: peo
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Coverage: 1962–2013
Subjects: Communication, Psychology
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Streaming Video
Psychotherapy.net
Psychotherapy.net offers video streaming in the field of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment.

Abbreviation: psycth
Vendor: Psychotherapy.net
Subjects: Psychology
Type: Streaming Video
Sage Research Methods Online
SAGE Research Methods offers streaming videos on discipline-specific research methods to help students design and successfully complete research projects.

Abbreviation: srmo
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Communication, Rhetoric & Composition, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Research Starter, Streaming Video