Welcome!
Welcome to the FSU Libraries' guide to Dance research and resources. Use the tabs at the top to navigate through the resources. Please contact me with any questions or if you would like to suggest resources to be added to the guide. Enjoy!

| Paloma Herrera in Swan Lake. Photo: MIRA (Source: American Ballet Theatre) | ||
Call Numbers
Use the Library of
Congress Classification Outline to
browse for serendipitous discovery of books in your subject area.
- GV 1585 - Dictionaries, encyclopedias
- GV 1587 - Terminology, abbreviations, notation
- GV 1587.5 - Directories
- GV 1588 - Philosophy (and theory)
- GV 1589- Study and teaching
- GV 1590-GV 1594 - General works
- GV 1595 - Special aspects of the subject as a whole
- GV 1596 - Pictorial works
- GV 1596.5 - Juvenile works
- GV 1597 - Dancing as a profession
- GV 1600 - Dance criticism, appreciation
- GV 1645-GV 1728 - Dance history (and historical dance)
- GV 1743 - National dances. Folk dances and dancing
(General)
- GV 1746-GV 1771 - Social dancing. Ballroom dancing
- GV 1781-GV 1795 - Theatrical dancing (Biography: GV
1785)
- GV 1796 - Special dances.
- M 1450 - Dance music
- M 1520 - M 1526 Ballets (full scores, piano scores,
excerpts)
- QM 1- QM 511 - General human anatomy
- QP 1 - QP 345 - General physiology
-
RC489.D3 & RJ505.D3
- Dance Therapy
Key Resources
- Dance in VideoDance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by many influential performers and companies of the 20th century, available online in streaming video. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as pioneers of modern concert dance.
- Oxford Dictionary of DanceOnline reference book. Only 5 seats are available at a time. If you are receiving a log in message, all seats are full. Please check back later or look for the print version on the shelf at Strozier.
- International Encyclopedia of DanceOnline encyclopedia published by Oxford. With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextDescription: International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.
- International Index to the Performing ArtsIIPA draws its current content from more than 130 international performing arts periodicals from 9 countries, and also indexes feature performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. Indexing 1998 - present (plus 89,464 retrospective citations from 46 periodicals, dating back to 1864).
- SPORTDiscus SelectDescription: Indexes the world's practical and research literature dealing with all sport and fitness disciplines, including dance. It covers over1000 sport periodicals from 1949-
- Physical Education IndexDescription: Subject index to domestic and foreign periodicals that are published in English. Coverage includes dance, health, physical education, physical therapy, recreation, sports, sports medicine, physical fitness, rehabilitation, and sport psychology. Coverage is from 1970 to the present.
Citation Guide
- Citation Research GuideUse the FSU Libraries Citation Research Guide to to find more information and examples of how to cite your sources in Chicago, MLA, and APA.
- Citation Management ToolsFind more information and links to tools to help you organize and format citations, such as RefWorks, Zotero, and EndNote.
Subject Headings
Here are a few subject headings you can use to search the catalog for books and journals about dance.
Art and dance
Dance – Philosophy
Dance -- Religious aspects
Dance -- Study and teaching
Modern dance -- Study and teaching (Higher) – Methodology
Body language
Performing arts
Dance -- Sociological aspects
Modern dance
Choreography – Philosophy
Movement (Philosophy)
Movement, Aesthetics of
Dance – History
Choreography
Dance -- Anthropological aspects
Human beings -- Attitude and movement
Dance -- Study and teaching – Periodicals
Religious dance -- History
Visual & Performing Arts Librarian |
Contact Info Visual & Performing Arts Librarian Strozier Library, Scholars Commons 116 Honors Way Tallahassee, FL 32306 *on leave until August 2013* Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Art History, Studio Arts, Museum Studies, Art Education, Arts Administration, Art Therapy, Theatre, Dance, Interior Design Education: MA, MS(LIS) |
Humanities Librarian |
Contact Info Office: 0027H Scholars Commons Strozier Library Phone: (850) 645-2163 Email: ascheel@fsu.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Office Hours: Tue. 1pm-3pm (Dodd 182e) and Wed. 10am-12pm (WMS 437) Education: MLIS, MA Classical archaeology Areas of Responsibility: Classics, English, HoTT, Philosophy, Religion |




Loading...
