Skip to main content

Devine TEC Class Guide: Home

Home

Subject Guides

Four Steps to Industry Research

1.  Identify your industry, many industries don’t have NAICS codes so use databases like Hoovers Academic, Business Source Complete and ABI/Inform Compete.

2.  Search for an industry survey or report in our major industry resources: IBISWorld, NetAdvantage, and Mintel Academic. For specific industry research search our specialized industry databases: Gartner (IT), BCC Research (high tech & manufacturing), SBRNet (sports), and WGSN (fashion).

3.  Industry/trade association and specialized industry journal information can be found in Gale Directory Library (Directory of Publications & Broadcast Media and Encyclopedia of Associations) and Ulrich's Global Serial Directory.

4.  If you are unable to find industry information for the industry you are looking for, please contact your business librarian listed on the right. Industry research is often difficult.

Entrepreneurial Outreach Librarian

Trip Wyckoff's picture
Trip Wyckoff
Contact:
Room 0027k
Strozier Library
Basement
850-645-1475

Library Login

Library Login

To fully use the FSU library's website you have to be logged into the library's proxy server. That occurs one of three ways: first, you log onto a computer on campus that is part of the campus' ISP range; second, you log into Blackboard or Canvas and then click on the library's link on the left hand side of the page; or three, you go to lib.fsu.edu and log in using your FSU password. Most likely if you are unable to get database or are asked to pay for an article, you are not logged into the library's proxy server.

The gain access to the databases referenced in this site start with this link: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/

Magazines & Newspapers

Magazines & Newspapers

Associations

Company Information

Databases

Company Research

Use these databases to find information on major companies and their products and business models.

Industry Surveys

Industry Surveys

Industry surveys look at an industry at a very high level and usually contain marcoeconomic overview for for the industry, some basic competitor information and very little local data. 

Industry Specific Guides

High Technology & Engineering

Information Technology

Sports

Fashion

Industrial Internet Resources

Internet Resources

B-to-B sites

Demographics

Consumer

Commercial

Templates

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706