This is the "About HathiTrust" page of the "HathiTrust Digital Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HathiTrust Digital Library   Tags: digital, digital_libraries, e-books, hathi trust  

The HathiTrust is a partnership of libraries and other research institutions devoted to digitizing and preserving their collections and making them available online.
Last Updated: Oct 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/hathitrust Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

About HathiTrust Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is the HathiTrust?

The HathiTrust (pronounced 'hah-tee') is a partnership of libraries and research institutions that have come together to build and share a digital repository of print works.  Begun in 2008, the goal of the partnership is to both preserve and provide access to print works.  The HathiTrust has pursued this goal chiefly by digitizing materials like books and journals from library collections and making them available in the HathiTrust Digital Library. 

In addition to digitizing print works, the HathiTrust also works to identify the owners of so-called 'orphan' works.  These are books and other printed materials that are still under copyright protection, but whose copyright owner is unknown.  The goal of this work is to increase the number of works in the public domain (i.e. not restricted by copyright protections).

 

Google Books vs. HathiTrust

Comparison of the Google Books Project with HathiTrust:

Features

Google Books Project HathiTrust
Numbers 20 million items and growing 10 million items and growing
Content Type books, journals, magazines, reports, and govenment documents books, journals, magazines, reports, and govenment documents
Organization Google owns the Google Book Project and decides how to manage it partnership of libraries and institutions, with membership and shared governance
Full Text Search full text search within all the content; browse to sections containing the search terms full text search within all the content; pages where terms are found are displayed
Full Text Download full text download of the whole item for those items that are out of copyright full text download for members of HT of the whole item for those items that are out of copyright
Copyright status does not work on identifying copyright status of "orphan" works will work on identifying copyright status of "orphan" works

WorldCat Records

FAQ about WorldCat records.

MARC records in WorldCat that lead to the project's "landing page" ; there will sometimes be duplicate records; leads to links to holidng libraries MARC records in WorldCat that lead to the project's "landing page" ; there will sometimes be duplicate records; leads to links to holidng libraries
Long term archiving and reformatting as needed of full text Not a key part of the mission Is a key part of the mission
Replacement of library material Not a source of replacements for missing library materials

Is a source of replacements for missing library materials, under US Copyright Section 108

Thanks to Barbara DeFelice and William Fontaine of Dartmouth College for this chart.

 

Author's Guild v. HathiTrust

In 2011 the HathiTrust was sued by the Author’s Guild for copyright infringement for digitizing material still under copyright.  On October 10, 2012, federal court Judge Harold Baer sided with the HathiTrust, citing the service’s “contribution to the progress of science and cultivation of the arts” and support for accessibility requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Guide Creator

Profile Image
Abby Scheel
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Office: 0027H
Scholars Commons
Strozier Library
Phone: (850) 645-2163
Email: ascheel@fsu.edu
Send Email
Office Hours:
Tue. 2:30pm-4:30pm (Dodd 182e)
Education:
MLIS, MA Classical archaeology
Areas of Responsibility:
Classics, English, HoTT, Philosophy, Religion
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip