Guide to basic historical research resources.
Welcome to the History Research Guide. Use the tabs and boxes to identify and locate items for your research. This guide is just the beginning, so if you need more help locating articles, books, or other resources for your paper, contact us about setting up a research consultation. During a research consultation, a librarian meets with you one-on-one to help you get a handle on the resources you need to complete your assignment.
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is another excellent resource for books, periodicals, manuscripts, newspapers, and archival materials in print, microfilm, and digital formats. FSU belongs to this international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries, which allows FSU patrons to borrow CRL materials via interlibrary loan for extended periods.
One way to identify key collections is through CRL Topic Guides.
- History Cooperative
A premier resource for history on the web, History Cooperative offers the American Historical Association and the Organization of American Historians journals online in full-text with a searchable database.
- Dissertation Abstracts/Digital Dissertations
Dissertation Abstracts indexes every doctoral dissertation completed at U.S. accredited institutions for the past 150 years. Digital Dissertations provides full-text access (in PDF) to all dissertations completed from 1997 on.
- Historical Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes literature 1964 - date covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450 - present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics
- History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Contains records describing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, medicine and allied historical fields. Citations reflect the contents of more than 1,000 journals, and partial contents of several hundred more.
- History Resource Center: US
The History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 1,000 historical (primary) documents, more then 30,000 reference articles, and over 65 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes access to the citations for over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Includes America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts. History and politics of the United States and Canada (prehistory to the present). Coverage includes journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations from 1954 to the present.
- America: History and Life
Bibliographic database covering the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- ITER bibliography
The Iter bibliography addresses many aspects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance--including archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and history of science--covering the years 400 - 1700. It provides citations for books, journal material published since 1842 (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies), and citations for essays in books published since 1993.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
Contains records describing the current literature of art, including books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and journal articles in more than 2,500 periodicals
- Florida Heritage Collection (FHAC)
An ongoing cooperative SUS (State University System of Florida) project to digitize and provide web access to materials broadly representing Florida's history, culture, arts, literature, sciences and social sciences.
- Florida Memory
Online portal to historical collections at Florida�s state library. Features include the Florida Photographic Collection, Online Classroom, Highlights of Florida History, Collections, and Timeline.
- MOA: Making of America Digital Library
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection currently contains access to approximately 9,000 books and 955 serials with 19th century imprints and is made up of two separate online collections from the University of Michigan and Cornell University.
Search for public domain books (published before 1923) available online.